Lavash Cracker Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Thank you. This is a wonderful recipe. Unfortunately I didn't have any wheat flour so I just used regular. I also used a pizza stone at 475 for about 5 minutes. They turned out wonderful. I also agree with using havarti cheese on top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Jensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Great recipe. I didn't have whole wheat flour and used AP - it worked fine. I put about 1T cracked black pepper and 1 T Poppy Seeds in. I was stunned at how thin these would roll out I dusted the top with Kosher salt, and used a fork to dock them all over prior to baking. I tried baking on pizza stone and also in a heated ungreased half sheet pan. I preferred the half sheet pan, my pizza stone has charred semolina/cornmeal on it and the bread rounds picked up these bits. The next day I put them in a low oven (250) for a couple of minutes to warm them - and they were even better than fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I made this for the first time today and I am wondering if I will get better at it. The results were delicious but it took me over 5 hours. I couldn't keep up with the rolling in order to get them into the oven and so I ended up rolling the rest of the dough and then turning the oven back on - only the last 10 or so were usable as they had stuck together. I don't know whether to oil them or flour them more to keep them separate and I don't have enough space to lay them all out while waiting so that is why I stacked them. If I try these again I will experiment with using my pasta machine to do the rolling and then cut off sections to bake. In any case it was fun trying and as I said they are delicious. I am eating one right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I made the lavash this afternoon, and I'm eating some right now. I found the recipe to be clear, easy to follow, and accurate. I did use whole wheat flour; in fact, I used all whole wheat flour as the lavash I typically buy and enjoy is whole grain. My lavash turned out very nutty and crunchy. Although I'm eating it plain right now, I see it as an excellent partner for cheese. To Jellylava who had trouble with it sticking when stacked, I would suggest using wax paper to separate the lavash pieces. This ought to stop the sticking problem. Although you're probably doing this, make sure you flour your rolling pin and work space too. By the way, I made a half recipe and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by becourageous1
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Cracker bread is the perfect name. This is thin and awesomely crunchy. The only change I made was brushing on some olive oil and sprinkling some rosemary before baking. It took me a few tries to get the dough thin enough and it seemed to help letting the dough sit uncovered on the counter for 20 minutes or so. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becourageous1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I tried this today and found it simple and pleasant to work with. I did use spelt flour instead of wwheat increasing it to 1cup. I also used a mixture of white mostly organic flours ihave already mixed for baking. I also use bulk instant yeast so I guesstemated,pretty good. I was greatful for the suggestion of the long , even so I still had mor than enough, or too little Lavash cracker bread. No problem. I was so tired any way, so I rolled some. Let the rest in the log froze them. This way I can make a batch when I'm tryiny soda bread and sweet Irish bread.Because the ones I did make Iput myhomemade yogurtcream cheese w/ dried onion spinach-oliveoil-jalapeno dip on them, with one of his favorite homemade soups, lima bean. Did he like the cracker bread? No, he loved them, asked me for 3 more, after I intiallt gave him 1 large, 1small. Next, I'm trying them with my homemade fruit butters and yogurt cream cheese/nuts and tea. thanks Betty, I'm going to share with some of my tea loveers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Did this last night and didn't have any issue with adding the salt as suggested in the recipe, it seemed to rise just fine. Took the suggestion about brushing with olive oil and rosmary ... LOVED IT! Now just need to find a good hummus recipe to go with it. Did take me 3 hours to get done, but definitly worth it. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Terrific recipe, Betty. For a killer taste, try brushing with olive oil and cook over direct heat on the grill. About a minute on each side. The taste is awesome! Lost about half the batch - stuck to the wax paper so might need to sprinkle some flour on the paper while waiting to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Yah! the recipe has been found! big fan at the deli and now its mine! I used a pasta roller to get perfectly thin! easy peezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
thank you, wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Potluck Pepperoni Bread

What's cooking in Charlotte? Suzi's versatile potluck pepperoni bread.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States