Lavash Cracker Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Thank you. This is a wonderful recipe. Unfortunately I didn't have any wheat flour so I just used regular. I also used a pizza stone at 475 for about 5 minutes. They turned out wonderful. I also agree with using havarti cheese on top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Jensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Great recipe. I didn't have whole wheat flour and used AP - it worked fine. I put about 1T cracked black pepper and 1 T Poppy Seeds in. I was stunned at how thin these would roll out I dusted the top with Kosher salt, and used a fork to dock them all over prior to baking. I tried baking on pizza stone and also in a heated ungreased half sheet pan. I preferred the half sheet pan, my pizza stone has charred semolina/cornmeal on it and the bread rounds picked up these bits. The next day I put them in a low oven (250) for a couple of minutes to warm them - and they were even better than fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
thank you, wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
These turned out excellent. Very thin and crispy. I made them using King Arthur products (3 1/4 cups of Italian-style flour and 2 1/4 t. instant yeast). I cut each of the 30 small pieces of dough into quarters (after the second rise) and used my pasta maker to get them paper thin. The pieces were small enough that I was able to immediately use the thinnest setting on the pasta maker, so while one batch was baking, I was getting the next batch ready. I docked them with a fork, brushed them with butter-flavored olive oil and used various toppings – from sea salt to Garlic Bread Sprinkle to grated parmesan cheese to King Arthur’s Everything Bread Topping. We like the plain salted ones the best. I found that they needed at least 5 minutes at 500 degrees in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very nice! The only thing I did different was brushing on some olive oil and sprinkling them with sea salt before putting them in the oven. I recommend doing exactly what the recipe says and rolling out ALL the dough paper thin before putting the first batch in the oven. I was scrambling to roll them out between batches; my mistake! Very light, crunchy, and strong enough to support my boyfriend's super bowl cheese dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I made the lavash this afternoon, and I'm eating some right now. I found the recipe to be clear, easy to follow, and accurate. I did use whole wheat flour; in fact, I used all whole wheat flour as the lavash I typically buy and enjoy is whole grain. My lavash turned out very nutty and crunchy. Although I'm eating it plain right now, I see it as an excellent partner for cheese. To Jellylava who had trouble with it sticking when stacked, I would suggest using wax paper to separate the lavash pieces. This ought to stop the sticking problem. Although you're probably doing this, make sure you flour your rolling pin and work space too. By the way, I made a half recipe and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by becourageous1
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Cracker bread is the perfect name. This is thin and awesomely crunchy. The only change I made was brushing on some olive oil and sprinkling some rosemary before baking. It took me a few tries to get the dough thin enough and it seemed to help letting the dough sit uncovered on the counter for 20 minutes or so. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becourageous1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I tried this today and found it simple and pleasant to work with. I did use spelt flour instead of wwheat increasing it to 1cup. I also used a mixture of white mostly organic flours ihave already mixed for baking. I also use bulk instant yeast so I guesstemated,pretty good. I was greatful for the suggestion of the long , even so I still had mor than enough, or too little Lavash cracker bread. No problem. I was so tired any way, so I rolled some. Let the rest in the log froze them. This way I can make a batch when I'm tryiny soda bread and sweet Irish bread.Because the ones I did make Iput myhomemade yogurtcream cheese w/ dried onion spinach-oliveoil-jalapeno dip on them, with one of his favorite homemade soups, lima bean. Did he like the cracker bread? No, he loved them, asked me for 3 more, after I intiallt gave him 1 large, 1small. Next, I'm trying them with my homemade fruit butters and yogurt cream cheese/nuts and tea. thanks Betty, I'm going to share with some of my tea loveers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Did this last night and didn't have any issue with adding the salt as suggested in the recipe, it seemed to rise just fine. Took the suggestion about brushing with olive oil and rosmary ... LOVED IT! Now just need to find a good hummus recipe to go with it. Did take me 3 hours to get done, but definitly worth it. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Yah! the recipe has been found! big fan at the deli and now its mine! I used a pasta roller to get perfectly thin! easy peezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Potluck Pepperoni Bread

What's cooking in Charlotte? Suzi's versatile potluck pepperoni bread.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States