Lava Lamps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
We made these for a party and they were a hit! We added a shot of 7-Up to sweeten them up a bit, then they were perfect. Also worked well with 7-up alone for those who don't care for champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
These were so much fun! My husband and i loved them so much we made some for our children: Use Lemon-lime soda and "virgin" jello shots! A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunnylover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
These are alot of fun. The key to keeping it look like a lava lamp is to break the jello shot up really well with a fork. I put it in the flute first, mashed it, then added the champagne, beautiful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Made for New Years and they were a hit. Definitely something different. I don't usually like jello shots, but I loved them with the champagne. Made 2 batches, strawberry and blackberry. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nottingham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I agree that the jello part pretty much sunk to the bottom, but was amazed at how much it did look like a lava lamp (when stirred) and they certainly do sneak up on you, as others said. Kept waiting for the effect to kick in, then - boom! - it hit! Not sure if I was having "taste bud issues," but I really couldn't taste anything in this. Granted, it could be that we used cheap champagne, but regardless - love the ease and "cool factor" - will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
It worked for the first few seconds and then it all sat at the bottom. Too much alcohol for the drink - this would be great for a college party with the goal of getting trashed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Made these little treats for New Year's Eve, and watch out! They are wonderful, but will definitely sneak up on you! I have made them several times after, and everyone always loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Interesting...I think my jello needed to chill longer, but it is fun to watch and potent to drink, so HURRAY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
These are great! I used cherry vodka and cherry jello. They were great for a retro party. All my guests wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alto, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
GREAT party drink! i made the jello shots in large tupperware and diced it so they could easily be added to the champagne glasses. also went great with all other fruity drinks we made that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grampa's Brandy Alexander

Creme de cacao, chocolate syrup and ice cream make a super-rich cocktail.

The Big Jamo Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make the Big Jamo whiskey cocktail.

Gibson Cocktail

See how to mix the best Gibson cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States