Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
will make again-very easy--diced onion and gr pepper with chop wizard--next time will season meat and try using turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
My kids loved this! I will make it often. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Loved this recipe! It is great as leftovers, just as promised! I added a few things: Onion powder and garlic powder. And I omitted the onion, because of an allergy in the family. Loved it, even my 6 year old enjoyed some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Excellent, though the portions used required that I make 2 pies because of the sheer amount of ground beef and potatoes. If you're using russet potatoes, definitely use 2 instead and not quite so much meat/onion/green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My husband and I thought this was really yummy. I hesitated after seeing some of the mixed reviews. I did prebake the pie shell for about 8 mins. And instead of using just ground beef I used a mixture of ground beef and breakfast sausage. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Made tonight for supper and it was very quick and easy. Did not use pie crust or peppers, but it was still good. I was surprised. Next time I will use more mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I tried this recipe but found it to be very bland. If you try the recipe, I recommend adding at least some salt and pepper to both the potatoes and ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I also use ground beef, but not a pie crust, I start with the meat (and onions and peppers but celery works too for great flavor) then I pour some brown gravy over the top of that. It seeps up into the layer of mashed potatoes on top and it makes it really yummy. I put a thick layer of mashed potatoes (it is after all the best part!) I sprinkle the top with paprika for presentation and any other veggies I serve on the side so that reheating doesn't make it soggy and limp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Let's quicken this up. Once my ground beef & onion are cooked, I push it to the sides of the frying pan so the center is empty. I melt about 1 or 2 tbls of butter in the center and add a little gravy master to that, stirring as I go. I add just a little water to thin it and stir the beef till it's covered with it. That adds great flavor to the meat. I don't use a pie crust. Pour the meat into a casserole, save time by using Simple Potatoes to cover the beef and top with a can of creamed corn.( they are GREAT! )Bake about 30 min at 350! My husband LOVES IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I have also been making shepards's pie for a number of years. Never with a pie crust though. I use a thin layer of mashed potatoes at the bottom and start layering meat/gravy/vegetable mixture and ending with a final layer of mashed potatoes topped with shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Any leftover just keep getting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spencer, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States