Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I also left out the pie crust. I browned the ground beef, with onions, mushrooms, & seasonings. Made a small amount of gravy with the drippings. Put the meat in a casserole dish, pour gravy over it, then the corn, I used half cream & half whole kernal. I added garlic & parmesan cheese when I mashed the potatoes & put it in the oven. About 10 minutes before dinner, I added shredded cheese to the top. My husband & I loved. Will make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
i thought this was great although i used ribeye meat cut in small pieces for the meat . layered the bottom with cresent rolls (layed flat ) . then layered the meat ,corn. potatoes. added chedder cheese all on top of the potatoes . layered the top with the cresent rolls cooked it and served it at my restaurant sold out and customers asking for it again . (home style restaurant vivian louisiana Grumpy's kitchen) thanks for the idea .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vivian, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. My teen-agers gave it 5 stars while my husband and I gave it 3 stars. We adults found it acceptable but a bit bland. Very easy to make and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I agree with omitting the pie crust and using mashed potatoes as a base and a cover. I also added a can of corn plus the cream corn. I am not a bell pepper fan, so I subsituted a poblano pepper, finely diced. If you like a zing in your pie, this is the way to do it. Also, salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
The only thing I did not do was use pie crust. I made it in buttered casserole dish. I really llike the creamed corn in this it gave it a semi sweet flavor, my kids really enjoyed this we had no left overs and the wanted me to make it again the following day, so this will be a recipe I us again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcooksalot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Everyone is giving their ideas of shepherds pie as we all know it when the only thing Phebes did is to give her recipe for shepherds pie using a pie crust. Make a recipe as listed and review it don't change it and then review. I think it was great with the crust try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rudy Hawes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
There is way to much green pepper in this recipe. It is also too moist to bake the pie dough - it ends up an uncooked glutinous mess. Dish is oddly tasteless without better spices. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I've been making Shepherd's Pie for years and have always used a pie crust for the bottom layer, it serves up much nicer. I didn't care for the ingredients in this recipe, i used mixed vegetables and making a gravy with the ground beef, i mix in the vegetables and pour this into the pie crust and top with mashed potatoes dotted with butter. I always get good reviews, i have my Grandson eating it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I found this recipie easy to put together after a day at work. I did a few shortcuts though, I added seasonings, salt, pepper and a garlic herb blend (light on the garlic), and my boyfriend is not fond of cream corn so I added a can of regular corn and for the saucyness I added a can of golden mushroom soup (undiluted) and a touch of butter. It was a hit when the guy wants more than 1 helping! I did find It needed to be in the oven longer (I did adjust for my oven) I left it in 10min's longer at 355 and it still could have gone atleast 10min's more but overall a great recipie to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bealeton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Be sure to add seasonings to it or it will just be a drab meal. That's what I had tonight, I added bacon on the top and if it wasn't for that, it would not had been good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States