Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
My family really likes this recipe. I have been making it for years as it was made when I was growing up. There are some slight differences in how I prepare it though. First of all, I do not use a pie shell. I cook this in a 9x13 pan (which I grease first) & instead of layering the corn & hamburg mixture, I mix it all together (I also use the onion, garlic, parmasean cheese, salt/pepper, Bay's seasoning-you can really mix up your spices with this recipe to help add some "zing"). I use creamed corn AND regular whole kernel corn & I only add a touch of milk to add SOME liquid. Once this is all poured into the 9x13 pan, I then top it with the mashed potatoes & put some salt/pepper/paprika on top & bake at 350 until it starts to bubble. At the very end I will set it on broil (Low) just to help form a little top "crust" on the potatoes (watch this so it will not burn..does not take long). My family loves this. They also like to add a little ketchup to it once it is on their plates for extra flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made a few changes to this: first I used ground turkey instead of the ground beef and I omitted the chopped onions & peppers to the turkey and added some garlic salt, onion powder and pepper instead. I think next time I'll precook the pie crust for a few minutes beforehand because the crust was slightly soggy but overall the pie tasted great! My husband raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This was wonderful! My family LOVED IT! Just like Grandma used to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
this was super easy to make and a huge hit...although I now make it with red or yellow bell peppers instead of green, and I add green peas and I mix it all together before I put it in the crust. I also substitute regular corn for the creamed and make a gravy with the pan drippings for more flavor. Instead of putting the cheese on top of the potatoes, I grate it and mix it in with the potatoes so it doesn't brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Excellent and quick and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
this is *really* good. the whole family loved it. now it's a regular in my house. it's simple and hardy.. quick and easy for these cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Use of creamed corn a nice touch to traditional dish. I also used left over mashed potatoes and served it with canned beef gravy, which snazzes it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This was ok...I found it to be kind of bland for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I couldn't agree with this being a "savory" recipe, if anything, it was really quite bland. The cream corn was pretty messy. All this was was ground beef, corn, and potatoes layer on one another. No real flavour except those three ingredients. Thanks -- but I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
very good all the ingredients came together to make a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States