Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Love this recipe but I made a few changes. Omitted the green peppers but added bread crumbs and two eggs and mix Into brown meat. This gives a meat, crumb, texture. Sort of like a pie crust. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I modified this recipe just in taking out the pie shell for health reasons. I have celiac and really didn't feel like making a homemade crust tonight. I also added cheese to the top of the potatoes for the last 5 minutes of cooking. The taste was good. This is a great base recipe to make changes to that suit your palette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Made this and loved it.. i not only used one pie crust but topped it with another and even my picky eater husband LOVED it!!! Just fantastic... i mix it up and add my own secrets ,like everyone... or just change it around ... no way to mess this up!! Thanks for posting !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Hanson Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made this last night and it was delicious. I used regular corn instead of cream style. I didn't use a pie crust this time but will next time. I topped the potatoes with shredded cheddar cheese. This recipe is easy and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Tecumseh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Adding taco mix to the ground beef is a nice change to this recipe, also sliced green bean give it a nice texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
shepherds pie is made using lamb with mashed potatoes on top and cottage pie with beef lol. This is not a shepherds pie. I'm from the uk and this is not how you make it lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Everyone loved this! It was my first time making shepards pie, so I did take the advice of some of the other reviewers and used a third each of a red and orange bell pepper. Also finely minced a few mushrooms and added a beef bullion cube with a half cup of water, a splash of worcestershire, a tbsp of tomato paste, and a little garlic powder. Also put a half cup of colby jack under the potatoes, and cheated on the potatoes by using a box of a roasted garlic. I didn't have a pie crust so I skipped it, but would try it that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Schoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
After reading several of the other reviews, I did adjust the recipe a little. I added McCormick Hamburger Grill Mates, worcestershire sauce and Cayanne to meat, and garlic to the potatoes. I also added a can of nibblets along with the cream corn. It was PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
The meal was easy to prepare and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
a delicious combination and the crust is great. I do not know many people who uses a crust with their shepherds pie recipe including myself, but the crust was definately a delicious touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States