Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
I made a couple changes, but this recipe turned out great. I omitted the pie crust, and just used a regular caserole dish. I also omitted the bell peppers, only used half of an onion, and seasoned the meat with salt and pepper, and garlic powder while the meat and onions were browning. I ended up using three large potatoes, which needed about four tablespoons of butter, and about a half a cup of milk (also added salt and pepper to the mashed potatoes). Next time I will probably use an extra half can of regular corn as well, and maybe a little more meat, just to make it a deeper caserole. Overall this was a definite hit that I will make often :) Scarlett
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLANGWAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I have also been making shepards's pie for a number of years. Never with a pie crust though. I use a thin layer of mashed potatoes at the bottom and start layering meat/gravy/vegetable mixture and ending with a final layer of mashed potatoes topped with shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Any leftover just keep getting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spencer, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
My family really likes this recipe. I have been making it for years as it was made when I was growing up. There are some slight differences in how I prepare it though. First of all, I do not use a pie shell. I cook this in a 9x13 pan (which I grease first) & instead of layering the corn & hamburg mixture, I mix it all together (I also use the onion, garlic, parmasean cheese, salt/pepper, Bay's seasoning-you can really mix up your spices with this recipe to help add some "zing"). I use creamed corn AND regular whole kernel corn & I only add a touch of milk to add SOME liquid. Once this is all poured into the 9x13 pan, I then top it with the mashed potatoes & put some salt/pepper/paprika on top & bake at 350 until it starts to bubble. At the very end I will set it on broil (Low) just to help form a little top "crust" on the potatoes (watch this so it will not burn..does not take long). My family loves this. They also like to add a little ketchup to it once it is on their plates for extra flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
this was super easy to make and a huge hit...although I now make it with red or yellow bell peppers instead of green, and I add green peas and I mix it all together before I put it in the crust. I also substitute regular corn for the creamed and make a gravy with the pan drippings for more flavor. Instead of putting the cheese on top of the potatoes, I grate it and mix it in with the potatoes so it doesn't brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Totally great. I sauteed onions and green peppers with the meat, used cream style corn, and added onion flakes to the mashed potatoes. I didn't use a pie shell, either. It turns out equally well with ground turkey, which makes it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made a few changes to this: first I used ground turkey instead of the ground beef and I omitted the chopped onions & peppers to the turkey and added some garlic salt, onion powder and pepper instead. I think next time I'll precook the pie crust for a few minutes beforehand because the crust was slightly soggy but overall the pie tasted great! My husband raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I also use ground beef, but not a pie crust, I start with the meat (and onions and peppers but celery works too for great flavor) then I pour some brown gravy over the top of that. It seeps up into the layer of mashed potatoes on top and it makes it really yummy. I put a thick layer of mashed potatoes (it is after all the best part!) I sprinkle the top with paprika for presentation and any other veggies I serve on the side so that reheating doesn't make it soggy and limp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Good recipe, but needs some modifications. I would ditch the pie shell and make this in a 9 x 13 dish, using more meat (1.5 lbs to 2 lbs), and using more seasonings for the meat, including garlic powder, salt, and pepper (I used white pepper, but black would work just as well). Also, be sure to salt & pepper the potatoes when adding in the margarine and milk. Overall, this dish got great reviews from myself and my family! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
This is a good recipe to use as a starting point. I seasoned the meat with seasoning salt, pepper and minced garlic, in addition to the onion. I also tucked some cheddar in under the potatoes. As I made it, I would give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
this recipe is almost like my homemade pot pie. I use two pie crusts, cubed cooked potatoes, carrots, onion, peas, cooked beef, homemade left over gravy or canned. can use a can of drained mixed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States