Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Good start. Could use more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was good, but my pie crust did not get cooked through. Next time, I will bake crust for a few minutes first before adding ingredients to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Photo by Cassie
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This recipe was ok. I did pre-bake the pie shell for about 5 minutes before I added the filling, so that came out cooked well. But now after eating it, I could have done without the pie crust entirely. It would have been better without it. All in all it was a bland recipe, I don't think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
There is no need to change anything. If you do the recipe how it is suppose to be it will be perfect. The crust turned out great. My family LOVED this meal. This is one of our favorites!!! Thanks so much for such a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
The taste of this dish was good, but my pie crust was not done. I went back to the recipe to see if you were supposed to bake it first, but it said unbaked. Next time I think I will bake it first for a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huzzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My family and I thought this was really good. I'd never made a shepherd's (cottage) pie with a crust before but it turned out nicely. The only changes I made were: (1) I used a bigger oval corningware dish instead of the little 9 in pie pan and it still barely fit, (2)mix the creamed corn with the ground beef mixture instead of layering, (3) add a layer of cheddar cheese between the beef mixture and the potatoes, and (4) I used crescent rolls dough for the crust instead of a pie crust. I learned that little trick from another recipe on this site and I swear it makes a huge difference. Regular pie crust always makes my meat pies dry and bland, and the crescent rolls are always flavorful and yummy. You just separate the dough and form a crust on the bottom of your dish. Kind of mush the seams together to seal the bottom. We really enjoyed this dish and I'm adding it to our menu. Thanks a lot Laurie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is a good starter recipe. I added to the meat mixture, ground Italian sweet sausage, mushrooms and 1/2 package of thawed frozen mixed vegetables with a little bit of spaghetti sauce. And I took out the pie crust. I made 2 layers in one casserole dish and one layer in another with the mashed potatoes and cheddar cheese crust. The result was a blend of flavor unique to anything else in this world. I wouldn't call it shepherd pie as it didn't contain lamb. Rather I would label it, "Cottage Pie Faux". However you label it, you can't help but call it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethlyn's Daughter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very good! Made with orange juice. 40 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
My family and I really like this, I added red bell pepper and fresh chopped garlic to the meat and of course topped with cheese as was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I added a little garlic to the recipe to kick up the flavor. I followed several pieces of advice to make the pie delicious, including red peppers, kernel corn and mixing the cheese with the potatoes so that it will not burn. Before topping with potatoes, I added a layer of cheese between the meat mixture and the potatoes...It was a great addition to the recipe and a nice surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThomasB

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Marathon, New York, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States