Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was great! I didnt watn to spend the time making my own mashed potatoes so I used Betty Crocker Sour Cream and Chive instant and added extra milk so I could "spread" them on the top. I love that this recipe call for a crust! I am so used to just using mashed potato for the crust and everyone in my household loved having an actual crust! Also, I used the deep dish pie crust and I had enuf beef filling for 2 pies so I doubled the corn and the mashed potatoes and then sprinkled a little shredded cheese on top. I also baked these at 400 degrees for about 35 to 40 minutes!Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I also left out the pie crust. I browned the ground beef, with onions, mushrooms, & seasonings. Made a small amount of gravy with the drippings. Put the meat in a casserole dish, pour gravy over it, then the corn, I used half cream & half whole kernal. I added garlic & parmesan cheese when I mashed the potatoes & put it in the oven. About 10 minutes before dinner, I added shredded cheese to the top. My husband & I loved. Will make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
i thought this was great although i used ribeye meat cut in small pieces for the meat . layered the bottom with cresent rolls (layed flat ) . then layered the meat ,corn. potatoes. added chedder cheese all on top of the potatoes . layered the top with the cresent rolls cooked it and served it at my restaurant sold out and customers asking for it again . (home style restaurant vivian louisiana Grumpy's kitchen) thanks for the idea .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vivian, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. My teen-agers gave it 5 stars while my husband and I gave it 3 stars. We adults found it acceptable but a bit bland. Very easy to make and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I agree with omitting the pie crust and using mashed potatoes as a base and a cover. I also added a can of corn plus the cream corn. I am not a bell pepper fan, so I subsituted a poblano pepper, finely diced. If you like a zing in your pie, this is the way to do it. Also, salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
The only thing I did not do was use pie crust. I made it in buttered casserole dish. I really llike the creamed corn in this it gave it a semi sweet flavor, my kids really enjoyed this we had no left overs and the wanted me to make it again the following day, so this will be a recipe I us again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcooksalot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Everyone is giving their ideas of shepherds pie as we all know it when the only thing Phebes did is to give her recipe for shepherds pie using a pie crust. Make a recipe as listed and review it don't change it and then review. I think it was great with the crust try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rudy Hawes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
There is way to much green pepper in this recipe. It is also too moist to bake the pie dough - it ends up an uncooked glutinous mess. Dish is oddly tasteless without better spices. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I've been making Shepherd's Pie for years and have always used a pie crust for the bottom layer, it serves up much nicer. I didn't care for the ingredients in this recipe, i used mixed vegetables and making a gravy with the ground beef, i mix in the vegetables and pour this into the pie crust and top with mashed potatoes dotted with butter. I always get good reviews, i have my Grandson eating it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I found this recipie easy to put together after a day at work. I did a few shortcuts though, I added seasonings, salt, pepper and a garlic herb blend (light on the garlic), and my boyfriend is not fond of cream corn so I added a can of regular corn and for the saucyness I added a can of golden mushroom soup (undiluted) and a touch of butter. It was a hit when the guy wants more than 1 helping! I did find It needed to be in the oven longer (I did adjust for my oven) I left it in 10min's longer at 355 and it still could have gone atleast 10min's more but overall a great recipie to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bealeton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States