Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. My teen-agers gave it 5 stars while my husband and I gave it 3 stars. We adults found it acceptable but a bit bland. Very easy to make and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I agree with omitting the pie crust and using mashed potatoes as a base and a cover. I also added a can of corn plus the cream corn. I am not a bell pepper fan, so I subsituted a poblano pepper, finely diced. If you like a zing in your pie, this is the way to do it. Also, salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
The only thing I did not do was use pie crust. I made it in buttered casserole dish. I really llike the creamed corn in this it gave it a semi sweet flavor, my kids really enjoyed this we had no left overs and the wanted me to make it again the following day, so this will be a recipe I us again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcooksalot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Everyone is giving their ideas of shepherds pie as we all know it when the only thing Phebes did is to give her recipe for shepherds pie using a pie crust. Make a recipe as listed and review it don't change it and then review. I think it was great with the crust try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rudy Hawes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
There is way to much green pepper in this recipe. It is also too moist to bake the pie dough - it ends up an uncooked glutinous mess. Dish is oddly tasteless without better spices. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I've been making Shepherd's Pie for years and have always used a pie crust for the bottom layer, it serves up much nicer. I didn't care for the ingredients in this recipe, i used mixed vegetables and making a gravy with the ground beef, i mix in the vegetables and pour this into the pie crust and top with mashed potatoes dotted with butter. I always get good reviews, i have my Grandson eating it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I found this recipie easy to put together after a day at work. I did a few shortcuts though, I added seasonings, salt, pepper and a garlic herb blend (light on the garlic), and my boyfriend is not fond of cream corn so I added a can of regular corn and for the saucyness I added a can of golden mushroom soup (undiluted) and a touch of butter. It was a hit when the guy wants more than 1 helping! I did find It needed to be in the oven longer (I did adjust for my oven) I left it in 10min's longer at 355 and it still could have gone atleast 10min's more but overall a great recipie to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bealeton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Be sure to add seasonings to it or it will just be a drab meal. That's what I had tonight, I added bacon on the top and if it wasn't for that, it would not had been good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I have always made my shepards pie in a crust and everyone loves it. I change a few things like adding stewed tomatoes instead (drain them first) and then just frozen or canned corn sometimes I add other veggies. I add that to the cooked meat and let it warm all up together. Then put in crust top with potatoes & cheese and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Great for winter...but we do it even simplier....ground beef browned with onion in bottom of large pot that can go in the oven, drain grease, return meat to pot, top with shredded cheese, I can of peas, top it off with buttered flavored instant mashed potatoes (made according to package directions) little more cheese, bake in oven for like 20-30 minutes to melt the cheese. Easy as "pie"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States