Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made it exactly according to the recipe, even taking advice from a previous posting to bake the pie crust before filling it - it was watery, bland and overall not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyMarkmann
Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Let me start off with the negative. When I put all the ingredients in the UNbaked pie shell at only 350, it took much longer than 30 minutes for it to thoroughly bake. If I were to do it again, I'd pre bake the pie crust slightly, then add the remaining layers and bake at recommended time on recipe. Also, many reviewers complained that the recipe lacked flavor. I, personally, feel it is not a recipe that needs a lot of spicing up. Yes, the potatoes need some salt and pepper, but overall, the recipe is good as written. You could also easily substitute another vegetable for the corn to give it a totally different flavor. Having said all that, it was a pretty good recipe. But, if you have a shepherd's pie recipe you already use and enjoy, then stick with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was a great and easy meal for me and my 2 gilrs. I will make this again for them it was very tasty. I just would like to see what the leftovers willl taste like!! It did not say to season the meat but I did with cayenne and black pepper and salt and a lil bit of garlic powder. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I always use this recipe. Simple but good. I don't use the green pepper, but everything else is the same. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My kids loved this for a weekend lunch, I added a little Mrs. Dash garlic to the meat mixture and tiny bit of worcestershire sauce, left out the pie crust and they went nuts over it, with the cream corn I also added a can of niblets corn, and salt and pepper to the potatoes, came out wonderful..and kid friendly.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Awesome dish! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
this recipe really came in handy w/ leftovers. i used half of a leftover meatloaf that i shredded w/ a cheese grater, some leftover creamed corn, and found some peas in the back of the freezer. with some additional seasoning and a homemade pie crust i was very happy with the results. i did parbake my crust 15 mins w/ an egg wash but wish i would have parbaked it a little longer because i could taste a hint of raw flour in the crust still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Very good. My hubby liked it in the pie shell, it gave it a nice flavour. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Since I modified it quite a bit, I am very skeptical about rating the recipe. I sauted garlic and onion before adding the meat. Once browned, I added a dash of Wooster sauce and added a chopped tomato. I omitted corn, but I had a little bit of spinach and mushroom sautted in garlic, which I added to this before baking. Was extremely delicious. Will def be making this (or my version of it) frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States