Lauriee's Coconut Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The custard was quite delicious. I was disappointed that using the two 9 inch pie dishes the pie itself was very thin. I would like to try next time just one 9 1/2 inch pie deep dish and see how that comes out. Everyone loved it and they thought the thin pie was better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This pie is so yummy! Although I made a few minor changes to the recipe. - I used two deep dish crusts instead of the regular, I used light tub butter instead of regular and I whisked the filling instead of stirring. Perfect pies!!!!! It took exactly 35 minutes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica__utley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
There was so much grease I threw everything away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I made this last week, this is the best tasting Coconut Custard pie ever! I did make a few adjustments though. You really need to make two pie's, there is to much filling for one deep dish pie. I added some nutmeg, and I dusted the top of the pie with some cinnamon/sugar spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara C
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
My husband had wanted a good and easy coconut custard pie, this one was perfect,he made this recipe today and it had what he was looking for just enough coconut,not to sweet and the right about of custard, easy to make,cooking time under 45min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I had to cook this for over and hour to get it to firm up in a deep dish pan. By the time it was done the crust and coconut was burned. I tasted the filling and it seemed good, I may try it one more time with a shallow pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Saben

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I've never before had greasy pie. Yuck. I didn't think I'd ever say this but this pie has... too much butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
I JUST MADE THIS PIE AND IT SMELLS GREAT. I USED A GLASS PIE DISH AND THE BUTTER IS JUST BUBBLING ALL UNDER THE CRUST. THE CRUST SEEMS TO BE SOGGY. DID I DO SOMETHING WRONG? I ONLY USED ONE DEEP DISH PIE PLATE FOR ALL THE CUSTARD AND COOKED OVER AN HOUR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This recipe is just fantastic! We were desperate for a coconut custard pie for Thanksgiving and none of the stores had them. This recipe looked easy and made two pies so we decided to give it a try. I'm so glad we did! We'll definitely be using this recipe from now on instead of buying them. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Did the recipe and it was great Was so easy and tasted great. I used a two pie order ,but used it in one deep pie pan I liked it better than two small shallow pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States