Lauren's Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was good. We tried as a Tony Packo's style hotdog sauce. It was good but not like Packo's! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Excellent! This recipe was the best I have made in dozens of attempts! Very close to Skyline. No more buying Skyline in cans for me here in Texas! ONE HUGE TIP - The texture of Cinci chile should be very smooth. Use an immersion blender in the pot to wiz it to that consistency. No visible pieces of meat, onion, etc. When you put it on your dog (not the one with the fur) most of the liquid should seep through into the bun leaving the solids sitting on top. Same if putting over spaghetti. The oystercrackers are there to soak up the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Lauren, I have got to say this is the best-tasting, most authentic home-cooked Cincinnati Chili recipe I have encountered so far. It gets really close to Skyline, Gold Star and the other parlors around Cincy that I have tried. The only things I do differently is to boil the ground sirloin instead of browning it, and I usually add a can or two of tomato paste at the end to thicken it, depending on how soupy it is. The flavor is always on-point, though. For Cincinnati Chili virgins, just remember that this dish is in a class all of its own. If you're not from the Midwest or have not tried Skyline, Gold Star, or even Chili Mac from Tony Packo's (Toledo) and Steak n Shake, you're probably in for a shock. The use of vinegar, cinnamon, allspice and Baker's Chocolate and its use as more of a meat sauce than a soup/stew really sets Cincinnati Chili apart from other styles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was a hit with my hubs! My 2 kids ages 5 and 7 didn't care for it, but heck they won't even eat chicken noodle soup. The spice blend is amazing and will rock your taste buds. For the person who made this for a chili cook-off and only gave one star, this is not something that is suited for a chili cook-off event, unless it is a Cincinatti Chili cook-off, which you would surely win with this recipe! This is a taste and tradition born in this midwest region, and now for everyone to try with this recipe! Make sure to serve it with shredded cheddar cheese, red kidney beans, and diced sweet raw onions! I added one tsp. of chili powder also. Thanks Laruren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I made it almost to the letter of the recipe. But it's still missing a little something. But darn good just the way it is. maybe a tad more chocolate would help??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rexter3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
We really, truly wanted to like this. It smelled really good, and I understand and definitely appreciate the love of regional food. Have always wanted to try Cincinnati Chili. Cooked exactly as directed; same proportions, etc. I guess you have to be from Cincinnati, but we just thought this was not so great. I guess we have ruined our palate w/Texas chili, but we couldn't get our taste buds around all those extra spices. They seemed to cover up the taste of whatever it was supposed to be. I'm sorry, and I do want to thank the author for posting. I feel I always learn from cooking different things, and maybe I just don't have the Cincinnati Chili knack. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good! exactly like it should be. The taste may be somewhat of an acquired one however. We love it! 8/1/11 made it again and it was great. I used sweet chocolate(didnt have anything else), diced tomatoes instead of sauce. Still super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very easy recipe and exceptional taste. Another one of those recipes that tastes better a day or two later. It has a bit of a kick to it so you may want to cut back the cayenne pepper to a 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethel M. McMullen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was one terrific chili, Lauren. Native Ohioans can argue about the best "copy cat" recipes, but this one is truly delicious and easy. I just browned the beef, and mixed all of the ingredients the night before. I placed this in the crockpot on low for twelve hours the next day (yup, really busy day!) and it was delicious over pasta. I added a tad more salt to taste, only tweak. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Awesome recipe for chili dogs (coneys) the kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kings Mills, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States