Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is a winter time staple in my house. It's hearty and filling for my teenage son and it is quick to throw together in the morning. I also modified the recipe by adding a can of diced tomatoes and omitting a can of the soup like a few other reviewers recommended. I love coming home to the smell of this tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Moore-Stillman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I used ground chicken because that's what I had on hand. Added 2 tbs worchestire, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 (small) can corn and diced green chilis. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
very good but I substituted a can of chopped tomatoes for one of the tomato soups and added jalapenos (we like it spicy) and some more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
As written I think it deserves 4 1/2 stars. I added more spices to bring on the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Kilanowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
It came out too spicy. I tried what the other reviewers have recommended/said: 1 can of tomato with green chili, in place of one of the tomato soup, and I also omitted the red pepper flakes to make it kid friendly, but it was still not kid-friendly at all. Furthermore, per recipe 2 tablespoon of chili powder - I only put 1 tablespoon, but it was still too spicy. I like spicy food, but this is too spicy and my toddler can't eat it. I had a little stomachache after eating a cup. I recommend to just stick with the 2 cans of tomato soup, don't substitute the 1 can of tomato soup with 1 can of tomato with chili. Also don't put the red pepper flakes and hold-off on adding the whole 2 tablespoons of chili powder; you might need to adjust it according to your liking. This is way too spicy for me. Other than that, overall, it has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I have been craving chili for a long time. Looked at a lot of recipes. Made this today...just finished a bowl for lunch! Took the advice of other reviewers, but i used diced tomatoes without salt added. The other substitutions i made were using 1 can of low sodium kidney beans, low sodium black beans, red onion and half a pound of hot turkey sausage. I omitted the all spice and added a couple table spoons of bacon bits. Took a nap and wake up to find out my very picky daugther who does not like black beans had already eaten 2 bowls (black beans and all.) She has been know to pick every piece of something she does not like from her food. Had mine...soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Such tasty, fulfilling and healthy chili! Of course beef adds a lot more flavor because of the oils but that's why turkey makes you feel so much better about eating it. I also like the thickness and consistently of it. I omitted a can of kidney beans as I'm not the biggest fan and I still thought it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My notes: I had 2.5 lb of extra lean gr turkey. Fried 2 onions and 2 minced garlic cloves in olive oil after browning turkey. Added 1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes,1 19 oz can black beans, 1 28 oz can red kidney beans, 1 large can tomato sauce. Only added 1.3 Tb chili, and the rest of the spices as suggested (not doubled). Put all in a pot heated on stove top then put in the oven at 350F for 3 hours then reduced heat to 325F for one hour (it may have been ok then but supper was still an hour away). Added 1 can of corn niblets before serving. 5 stars My husband also loves the Chunky Chili Cornbread Cobbler made with ground beef found here :http://www.canadianliving.com/food/chunky_chili_cornbread_cobbler.php I make this one in the oven too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I am a beginner cook who just moved out of my parents a few months ago.My boyfriend bought me a slow cooker and this was the first recipe we tried out. This was extremeley easy to make and came out delicious. I don't like my chili hot so I completely omitted the red pepper flakes. I read the reviewer suggestions below and I too swapped one can of tomato soup for one can of diced tomatoes. I added only one can of red kidney beans and instead added a can of mexicorn(corn with red and green bell peppers) and half a can green chillies. I also added half a can of water because it was rather thick. I didn't have all spice so I replaced that with a pinch of cinnamon which actually did a good job cutting the acidity. Will definitley be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I've made this countless times and it has become a staple in our home! Super easy, the only thing I change is adding a can of corn! We love topping it with shredded cheese, sour cream and broken up tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States