Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I am a beginner cook who just moved out of my parents a few months ago.My boyfriend bought me a slow cooker and this was the first recipe we tried out. This was extremeley easy to make and came out delicious. I don't like my chili hot so I completely omitted the red pepper flakes. I read the reviewer suggestions below and I too swapped one can of tomato soup for one can of diced tomatoes. I added only one can of red kidney beans and instead added a can of mexicorn(corn with red and green bell peppers) and half a can green chillies. I also added half a can of water because it was rather thick. I didn't have all spice so I replaced that with a pinch of cinnamon which actually did a good job cutting the acidity. Will definitley be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I've made this countless times and it has become a staple in our home! Super easy, the only thing I change is adding a can of corn! We love topping it with shredded cheese, sour cream and broken up tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Forgot one can of kidney beans but was perfect with out it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I wanted to try a different chili so gave this recipe a go. It was alright but I will definitely go back to my usual chili recipe. There are some things missing.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We all really loved this recipe. I've made several turkey chilis before, but this is one of the better ones. I think I liked it because of the tomato soup instead of tomatoes. The chili was thick vs. watery. Excellent. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
i used one package extra lean turkey, one package lean turkey - sauteed in oil with one chopped onion, spray crock pot with pam, add turkey, 1 bag frozen corn, 1 (10 oz) can tomato soup, one (15 oz) can black beans, one (15 oz) can kidney beans, 3 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes, 2 T chili powder, 1 t red pepper flakes, 1 T garlic powder, 1 T cumin, salt and pepper to taste. Came out great a little too spicy for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I loved this, but like others, I omitted the tomato soup. Instead I used 1 can no-sodium diced tomatoes, 1 can Rotel tomatoes w/ chiles and added 3/4 can of water. Only used 2 cans of beans (pinto & black) - the perfect bean-to-meat ratio unless you really like a lot of beans. I also only added 1 TBSP plus 1/4 tsp chili powder and omitted the pepper flakes. I seasoned with cayenne pepper and sea salt to taste after cooking (am a bit of a spice wimp). Used one small onion and browned with the meat and fresh garlic. Been eating this for the last few days, and I love every bite!! Probably the best chili I have ever had (so glad I left out the kidney beans since I don't care a lot for them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great tasting chili! I made the "unhealthy" version of this by substituting 90% lean ground beef and Italian pork sausage for the turkey. I browned the meat with the onion, and a teaspoon of garlic and Worcestershire sauce. Also, like others, I wasn't so sure about the tomato soup. So, in lieu of the tomato soup, I used 8oz can of tomato paste; 15oz can of tomato sauce; 15oz can of diced tomatoes, and a small can of diced tomatoes with chillies....like my chili with a bit more tomato zing. Got great reviews from the folks we had over for the game and chili too! they all said it was pretty spicy though (i did reduce the amount of red pepper flakes...still pretty spicy tho). Next time, I'll probably reduce that a bit more. I like it spicy, but that's just me. If making for others, it's best to keep the spice down, and let them dice it up themselves with hot sauce and/or red pepper if they wish. Finally, I also added some frozen corn to the slow cooker. Added nice color, texture and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is my favorite chili! I made it as directed except I added a half a can of water along with the 2 cans of soup. My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This recipe is FANTASTIC!! My husband (who claims to not like chili) has asked me to make this every week for the past three weeks. So easy, so delicious. I didn't change a thing except lowered the amount of red pepper flakes to a sprinkle, since we're wimps when it comes to spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Flory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States