Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I have come to rely on Boilermaker Tailgate Chili (from this site), which I make with turkey, as my go to chili to get rave reviews from those I am feeding. However, I came across this easy slow cooker recipe and decided to give it a try for a less labor intensive meal. It was actually excellent. I took cues from other reviewers and used 1 can tomato soup and 1 can Rotel tomatoes, as well as a can of chopped green chilies. I also added 1/2 can of water. I used 1 can kidney beans, 1 can pinto beans and 1 can black beans. My only complaint doing it this way was there was not enough liquid. Next time, I will probably use 2 cans tomato soup and 1 can Rotel tomatoes. My son complained that it had too many beans, but he is not a bean fan. I thought this was a great, easy chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I adapted the recipe after reading some of the reviews: only one can of kidney beans, added a can of corn (isn't that corn kernels in the photo?), used a large can of black beans, and I forgot to buy tom. soup so I added a large can of tomatoes. Oh, and cut the amount of chili powder in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Best chili recipe I've had in awhile. Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I replaced the canned tomato soup with low sodium diced tomatoes. Used fresh ground turkey and chopped garlic cloves. I added celery for some sodium and also added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
We'd make it again with adjustments stated in notes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danica Garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is a terrific, low fat chili. For extra flavor, I added 1 teaspoon smoked paprika and two whole chipotle chilies with sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I've made this so many times! I just want to point out that it is easily made gluten-free by substituting the soup for one can diced tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce. Adding a little cornmeal will help thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! It is the only chili that I make ever since I first made this about 3 years ago! My sister asked for the recipe and now it's also her go to recipe for chili! It doesn't taste like a turkey chili AT ALL! I make a few changes, just for my taste. I use 1 can tomato soup and 1 can diced tomatoes with chillies. And only 1/2 teaspoon of the red pepper flakes. I also leave out the oil and just cook the turkey with a quick spray of Pam. So delicious and not at all bad for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This is the easiest recipe I found for turkey chili that did not include diced tomatoes. Neither my husband or I eat them. We both absolutely love this turkey chili and I make it at least every other week in the fall and summer. I always make it as the recipe states , but will be trying some of the suggestions for some variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I typically hate turkey. I won't make anything with turkey, but my sister swore that this did not taste like turkey. So I tried it. This was a great recipe and it didn't taste like turkey at all. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 730) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States