Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Laura's Quick Slower Cooker Turkey Chili Haiku: "This was fine and good. But closer to 3.5. Less red pepper flakes!" Eek, I don't know if my child would've liked this if it had sat in the crockpot chirping w/ a whole teaspoon of red pepper flakes, so I reduced it to 1/4 tsp., and also dropped a can of kidney beans, due to what I had available. 6 hrs in the crockpot on low later and it was charring at the corners, so I had to add some water. 2 hrs. later, it was glue-thick (which in all honesty, is how I like my chili) but the crockpot was a b1+c4 to scour after dinner. I liked this chili alright, and you would never guess that it was turkey and not ground beef, but I'm not entirely sure if I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was unbelievable!! I listened to some other reviewers and made a few changes. I used 1 19 oz can of tomato soup, added 1 can of diced tomatoes with green chilis, swapped out one can of corn in place of one can of red kidney beans, left out the allspice, and seasoned my ground turkey with onion powder as it was cooking. I was a little pressed for time, so I cooked it on high for 1 hour and on low for 6. This was one of the best chili recipes I've ever had and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was really good, easy, and not spicy for those that don't like heat. I took advice from others and subbed 1 can of corn and 1 can of navy beans (white) for the kidney beans. I also subbed a can of diced tomatoes for one on the soup cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Five stars for being 1) full of flavor, 2) very easy, and 3) slow-cooker friendly. Whole family raved. Eyeballed the chili powder but it had more kick than my 3 year old can handle, so next time will reduce it by a bit. Changes: 2 pounds turkey, 2 cans black beans, 2 cans corn, 2 cans fire roasted tomatos, 1 small can diced chiles (mild), 1/2 can water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I'm making this for the second time today after it was so well received the first time around! I also took the advice of other reviewers and added a can of corn and replaced one can of kidney beans with white cannelini beans. I also sauteed the onions and then added the turkey in and cooked them together. I used the exact measurements when it came to spices and it turned out great... not to spicy for me or my son, and my husband, who is the spice lover, thought it was perfect. We topped it off with some crunched blue corn tortilla chips, cheese and sour cream. Delicious! I love having enough leftover to freeze... makes a really easy dinner later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I add a can of diced tomatoes to this. Favorite chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
best chili i ever made! I used 1 lb ground turkey, 1 lb ground pork and sprinkled fresh coriander and sour cream on top. OMG was it ever DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Make sure to put chicken broth or water in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I love this recipe! It's so simple and flexible to using whatever you happen to have on hand. I especially like how perfect it is for a cold day. I throw everything in the slow cooker in the morning and come home to a filling meal that's healthy. I wish I had more recipes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States