Laura's Lemon Roasted Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Reading the reviews of others who commented that this recipe called for an excessive amount of oil, I sympathized with the submitter, who probably had to specify a precise amount in order to submit her recipe. While baking demands precise measurements, cooking does not. One's potato might be larger or smaller than others' and so the total amount of one reviewer's potatoes might be completely different from another's and require more or less oil. I'd say use your judgment with this, and use enough to adequately coat the potatoes. I had great success with these--I used a combination of olive oil and butter and otherwise followed the recipe. It may be because I scaled this down to two servings that the potatoes needed about 1o minutes less cooking time, although I did cut them up small. Hubby went on and on about these--perfectly browned and crispy on the outside and almost creamy (according to hubs)on the inside--his point being they weren't mealy. I used Yukon Golds, unpeeled and again, cut into small cubes, which may account for that. The lemon is discreet, not enough to scream "LEMON" but just enough to make you notice something pleasant you couldn't quite put your finger on. Dill is something we always enjoy on potatoes and we did here as well. Great recipe, one we really enjoyed, and a definite "make again" seal of approval from hubs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
OMG, with some changes this was so excellent! It's only 2 of us so I scaled the ingredients for 2 and used one large baking potato. I scrubbed it and cubed it but left the skin on (so it gets crispy - yummy). I also subbed oregano for dill, and chicken stock and olive oil for butter and canola oil. I mixed everything in a liquid measuring cup, and then poured over the potatoes in the pan. Then I just squeezed fresh lemon juice over all. So fast, so easy, and so so good. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Yum! These were a hit. I followed other suggestions to use less butter and oil but kept the other seasonings the same. I used some tiny red potatoes from the farmer's market, so I didn't even have to slice them up and they made for great presentation. Clean-up was easy since I mixed everything in a Ziploc bag and lined the baking pan with foil. You can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Can you say YUM? These are divine, and have THE best crispy bits. I always pour the oil and butter on the cut up potatoes IN the baking pan. Then I just toss with my hands, (cook's best tool), and no extra bowl to clean - Bonus! UPDATE: After the potatoes were cooked, I put them under the broiler for about 2-4 minutes. The more golden and crispier the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenreanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I would definitely give this recipe about 4.5 stars because I did make a few minor adjustments. Like other chefs, I cut the oil/butter combo and substitued with about 1/4 c. olive oil. I squeezed the juice of a whole lemon (I like my lemon potatoes lemony). I also used fresh dill instead of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! I followed it pretty loosely [added more lemon and dill], but these turned out like great 'restaurant style' potatoes. My only suggestion is up the lemon if you want a good lemon flavour [the original recipe isn't very strong], and when the tops are brown, move the potatoes around and cook them some more so the other sides can brown as well. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Schaffer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
They are good. But try them this way: instead of canola oil, use fat free chicken stock.( I make it myself). Instead of butter, olive oil and oreganon, instead of dill. Much healthier and much more Greek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Really good! I do agree that there was a bit much oil/butter, but I thought it aided in the crisping process. I used garlic infused olive oil, the zest and juice of one fresh lemon, and red potatoes (not peeled, just washed and cubed). They turned out nice and sour. Hubby and I loved it! I gave it 4 stars, would have done 4.5, if possible. The only reason to not give it a 5 was because of the excess oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I followed the suggestions of others and substituted chicken broth and olive oil and oregano. I added some more lemon juice than originally called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACKLEY420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
YUMMY, YUMMY,YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States