Laura's Lemon Roasted Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Reading the reviews of others who commented that this recipe called for an excessive amount of oil, I sympathized with the submitter, who probably had to specify a precise amount in order to submit her recipe. While baking demands precise measurements, cooking does not. One's potato might be larger or smaller than others' and so the total amount of one reviewer's potatoes might be completely different from another's and require more or less oil. I'd say use your judgment with this, and use enough to adequately coat the potatoes. I had great success with these--I used a combination of olive oil and butter and otherwise followed the recipe. It may be because I scaled this down to two servings that the potatoes needed about 1o minutes less cooking time, although I did cut them up small. Hubby went on and on about these--perfectly browned and crispy on the outside and almost creamy (according to hubs)on the inside--his point being they weren't mealy. I used Yukon Golds, unpeeled and again, cut into small cubes, which may account for that. The lemon is discreet, not enough to scream "LEMON" but just enough to make you notice something pleasant you couldn't quite put your finger on. Dill is something we always enjoy on potatoes and we did here as well. Great recipe, one we really enjoyed, and a definite "make again" seal of approval from hubs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I always like potatoes and these certainly weren't bad. However, they are supposed to be "Lemon" potatoes and by the time they had baked, I tasted no lemon flavor whatsoever. Furthermore, the amount of butter/oil called for is WAY too much for this amount of potatoes. I probably used less than half and my potatoes were still very moist and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Love these!! I am a huge lemon fan, which is why I chose these, but I really couldn't taste the lemon at all. It didn't matter; these were crispy and flavorful. Delicious -- thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I make these using baby dutch yellow potatoes halved. These are so small and very tender with a wonderful buttery flavor. I toss them with lemon pepper, olive oil, add onion wedges with the garlic and bake @ 425 stirring a few times while they roast. I prefer these when I don't add the dill. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
These were so good. I used baby potatoes instead. I wold rate this a 6 if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
These potatoes had an awesome flavor. I substituted olive oil for the canola oil. They were a bit too greasy, so next time I will cut some of the butter and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was absolutely delicious and beautiful (which is why I took the picture). Next time I'll use less oil, but otherwise it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I followed the suggestions of others and substituted chicken broth and olive oil and oregano. I added some more lemon juice than originally called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACKLEY420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Pretty good; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Really good! I do agree that there was a bit much oil/butter, but I thought it aided in the crisping process. I used garlic infused olive oil, the zest and juice of one fresh lemon, and red potatoes (not peeled, just washed and cubed). They turned out nice and sour. Hubby and I loved it! I gave it 4 stars, would have done 4.5, if possible. The only reason to not give it a 5 was because of the excess oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States