Laura's Famous Aebleskiver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by squawk93
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This recipe was everything I was looking for -- straight forward and fool-proof. For years I had been "threatening" to make aebleskiver using my Norwegian great grandmother's pan that hangs on our beach cabin's kitchen wall. I didn't really know anything more about them than their name, and was always too intimidated by the project to actually follow through. Laura's recipe changed all that! These are easier to make than I'd imagined, and delicious. Making them twice in one week gave me the opportunity to try different fillings. I used applesauce in some, and whole freshly picked berries (Boysen, Tay, and blueberries) in others. My family liked them best unstuffed and then dipped in syrup, applesauce or whipped cream. Whipping the egg whites is imperative for success, and I used butter in the wells of the cast iron pan. Photos coming up soon. Thanks, Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
These were delicious. Really cute, lovely texture, with a homey pancake flavor. Loved mine with fruit jam or syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I don't own one of those special pans (even though I am of Scandinavian decent..how sad) and normally, that would discourage me...but no! I used the batter and made muffins! It totally works. I only made four servings but I baked them at 350 degrees for 13-15 min with the cups 2/3 full of batter. If I could do it again, I would bake them closer to 13...they came out a tiny bit dry but I had to kind of make it up as I went. Delicious. I prepared them with vanilla pastry filling inside, topped off with homemade whipped cream. A great, easy to make recipe you can do anything with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I used to work for a Scandinavian shop where we served aebleskivers and recently went on a quest to find the pan and the perfect recipe. I found the pan on the discount end racks at Target and then found this recipe. I made the recipe as stated except added vanilla and had to make the buttermilk. I served them to guests with an assortment of toppings to choose from including butter, maple syrup, lingonberries, whipped cream, and of course applesauce, lavender! They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I had aebleskiver when I went to a scandanavian breakfast house and I was instantly in love. I wanted to make these at home and thus started my search for a pan and a recipe. I have tried this recipe a variety of ways: using "homemade buttermilk" and trying to whip egg whites in a plastic bowl (it doesn't work that great). What I really love to do is put bits of ground sausage and cheese, blueberries, or lil smokies in the pan after I've added the batter. I have tried many fillings, but these are my faves. Also, the recipe says to flip over once, but these should really be a round ball. These will be hard to make in a new pan, but the more butter and oil you use, the more seasoned it gets, the easier it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I do not know anyone who eats them for breakfast, and I live in Denmark, Scandinavia. In the old days we came, a small piece of apple in the middle of the cake. Now uses many prunes. Just for fun, here is the letter "Æ" in Æbleskiver. Æble = apple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lækker-mad

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
if you eat them without jam, jelly, or some type of syrup to sweeten them, they are bland & boring. Maybe I will try to use the pan with a better pancake recipe. The dogs enjoyed them greatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I had my doubts because this recipe just seemed too simple, but these turned out great! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used 1% milk and it worked well. I filled the cups full and they were much prettier than only filling 2/3 full. * * I used my Aebleskiver pan on my flat cooktop and it worked well. * *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
When I was a young girl, my friends Mom would make aebleskivers for us for breakfast when I spent the night. They were the most wonderful things I ever tasted. It's worth buying the special pan for! One thing is, she added applesauce in the middle of them when filling the cups. You've never tasted anything so warm and cozy! We just dipped them in sugar. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Made these for breakfast today and they were great! My first time eating aebleskiver, but they turned out very well. I followed the recipe exactly except found you got the nicest, roundest aebleskiver if you fill the pan almost to the top. Put a teeny tiny piece of butter into each hole between pancakes so they don't stick. You can keep them warm in the oven until they all finish cooking. This recipe made more than 5 people could eat, including 2 young guys who can eat a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Famous Pork Chops

Make these delicious baked pork chops for an impressive dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States