Laura's Easy Oatmeal Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
A dash of salt, some ground cinnamon, and sub cinnamon chips for half of the chocolate to give these some flavor. They are crumbly. Next time I will add some dried fruit and sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Very easy to make except for spreading the chocolate, I think next time I will pre-melt the chocolate and then just pour & spread it over the bars. I cut back on the butter a bit and added dried cranberries, raisins, cinnamon and fresh orange juice, no almonds. Didn't crisp up the way I expected it to, maybe due to the OJ I added. Crumbled rather than stayed in bar form, but good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Really great bar. I made mine with cranberries and the combination was amazing. The first time I made it I only added 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup honey - other reviewers mentioned how crumbly they came out. Even with the honey addition these tasted great but fell apart. This original recipe would be amazing in yogurt since its crunchy and crumbly. I compared this recipe with a chewy granola recipe I have and the second time I made it I decided to add 1/3 cup of honey and the brown sugar to hot melted butter. Mixed this together and then added about 1/4 cup, or less, of flour to the dry ingredients. This worked out well and they held together like a crunchy - slightly chewy granola bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Liked this, added bit chopped walnuts and substituted 1/4 cup bran with 1/4 cup oats, added bit of prune purée that I had on hand, made in muffin tin, sprayed with oil. Came out easy, kids actually said less chocolate would be better. Will do again but less per....made 9 in the muffin tray, better if they were bit smaller for kid size treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Easy and delicious. Seems more of a fudge with oatmeal mixed in than a typical oatmeal bar. Need to avoid overbaking as the edges can get dry and the squares can be hard to remove from the pan. Definitely worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Fabulous! It was so addicting, especially hot out of the oven . . . I didn't have almonds so I added one large banana to the brown sugar/butter mix before adding the oatmeal; it had a delicious, almost banana's foster-like, result. I also cut the amount of chocolate chips in half and substituted for about a tablespoon of nutella. Will absolutely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Omitted the almonds as I didn't have any, and added shredded coconut. The entire household devoured it, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supplesammich
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
OMG! This is heavenly! I couldn't wait until it cooled completely to devour a bit. It is safe to say that these oatmeal squares are equally delicious warm as well as cold. I however did make a small modification. I added 1/2 cup of dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leighann23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
These are so easy to make and easy to adapt to your own tastes. To make it healthier I used half of the butter and half applesauce, less brown sugar and added honey, and I used less choc chips and added raisins. I also threw in a little cocoa powder. They turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is great! I liked that it was crumbly! And it was soooo easy!!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States