Lau Lau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Ono! I found luau leaves @ the Asian market. For all the Hawaii transplants, butterfish is also known as black cod on the mainland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Bajo-Moeller
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Ono! I made it with just chicken thighs cuz that's all I had on hand. I also wrapped the bundle in foil as I don't have ti leaves here in AZ. I did add alittle liguid smoke. Served with steamed rice and mac salad. ONO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Bajo-Moeller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waialua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is how you make Lau Lau! You can do all chix or all pork if you want to. Also, the cooking time is not for the meat, but rather the amount of time it will take to cook the taro leaves, which need to cook till - well, basically mush. If you are substituting spinach for the taro leaves, you can shorten your cooking time by a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Da Ono Kine!!! I live in St. Louis, MO and don't have access to butterfish, Hawaiian sea salt, ti leaves or taro. I substituted as follows and it turned out great: Butterfish/Whitefish, Hawaiian sea salt/Kosher salt, Taro/Fresh Spinach Leaves, Ti leaves/Tin Foil. Thanks for a taste of the islands in the midwest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbksu6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Broke da mouth good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kawika

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
oh yeah, what a great main dish to be had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOHOKU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waianae, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Allow me to translate: this is an authentic taste of real Hawai'i, just like Momma used to make. Puts a tear in my eye. Mahalo Auntie May!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Ho, dis da kine auntie May!! Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
Ho, the ono!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States