Latin-Inspired Spicy Cream Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I used my own homemade taco seasoning and I upped the cilantro. I had some red peppers I needed to use so I sauteed those with some sliced onion and fresh minced garlic and threw all that in the crockpot with everything else. This is off the charts delicious. The cream cheese makes it just creamy enough without going overboard. One of the best soups I've had in a long time--nevermind it's incredibly simple to make. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Hubby really enjoyed this. I used an 8 oz. block of cream cheese and substituted boneless thighs for the breasts and frozen (thawed) corn instead of canned. Next time I will add even more cilantro. I shredded the chicken before serving. The day it was made I thought it was good, but it definitely tasted better the next day. It filled my crockpot to the brim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
husband said "if it's easy, it's a keeper". It was! This coming from a guy who's not a fan of Hispanic dishes! Yum! Thanks! We did take out some of the liquid and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Excellent stew; could also be called a chili. The only change I felt compelled to make was to add about a 1/2 cup onion; otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. While putting it together, I felt that 3 cans of tomatoes were too many, but it ended up being the right amount. I also considered not adding the cream cheese, but it gave a really nice creaminess to the stew. Next time I will actually add less chicken - I think half will be enough. The recipe didn't state to shred the chicken, but I did. You need a large crock pot for this recipe! Thanks, Mshellz2u! I will have some yummy leftovers for awhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy Chazarreta
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very good! Took to a potluck and EVERYONE loved it. I de-boned a cooked rotisserie chicken and added it to all the other ingredients except the cream cheese. I added 2 cups of chicken broth since the chicken was already cooked. Put it in the refridge overnight. Cook on high for 3 hours then added cream cheese which thickened it up a bit and cooked another 20 mins. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Chazarreta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Fantastic!! Elected to use 3-3/4 lbs. of skinless, boneless chicken thighs rather than chicken breasts. For the diced tomatoes, used 4, 10 oz. cans of Rotel Hot Diced Tomatoes w/ Habaneros. For Taco Seasoning, used 6 tsp. of Taco Seasoning I by B. Echols from this site. We choose to make this as a soup, leaving the extra flavorful liquid (if making as a stew, reserve the liquid for use in other dishes). The addition of cream cheese is a nice twist, but this soup can easily stand on its own. The habanero peppers definitely ramped up the heat, but perfect for us. We used a 6 qt. slow cooker, and it was full to within an inch of overfilling {and we probably used at least a pound less of chicken}. Our cooking time was 4 hrs. on low, and followed by 2 hrs. on high. MSHELLZ2U, your roommate did you right, and thankfully you cleaned out your cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Very good recipe! Followed the recipe, except for not reading that the beans needed to be drained. Made for a good soup. We added rice to the soup and topped with crushed Fritos. Next time, we'll also top with some sour cream, shredded cheese, and chopped onion. It's the kind of recipe that makes for a good starting point to add stuff to and be creative with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Hershey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This sounds like it would be really good if you are pressed for time. I think frozen corn and using uncooked beans would be so much healthier. I haven't made this yet and when I do, I will come back and let you know how it turns out! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Fantastic! I made this recipe just as specified except I used the tomatoes with green chiles instead of just diced tomatoes and I added half of a yellow onion, diced. For some reason, I just have to put onions in everything. Even without them, this stew would be excellent. I didn't have to remove any of the liquid as recommended to end up with a nice stew texture, however mine did cook in the slow cooker for nearly twelve hours. I tasted it when I was rushing out the door after about 10 hours and was really skeptical of adding the cream cheese because it tasted so good without it, however, the cream cheese really does add a different dimension to the flavor profile. I like that I can omit that if necessary next time I make it, as all of the other ingredients I usually have on hand. This is a quick and easy stew and is definitely a keeper. My husband calls it "spicy Brunswick stew" and I find that name rather fitting. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I read through a lot of slow cooker stew type recipes on the site and landed on this one for a few reasons. The flavor sounded great and the recipe seemed quick to put together- boy was I right! I made only 2 changes to the recipe which was to use boneless chicken thighs instead of chicken breast and low fat cream cheese at the end. This recipe really was SO easy. If you can operate a can opener you are pretty much done. After 10 hours on low the chicken essentially shred itself. The key is definitely using good quality pantry items. I used a Salsa Verde that is my absolute favorite from Trader Joes and a higher quality can of diced tomatoes which I think helped with the depth of flavor. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States