Latin-Inspired Spicy Cream Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I used my leftover Thanksgiving turkey in this recipe in place of the chicken. It turned out so good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Delicious! I made this dish just as called for on the recipe except for only putting in 1/4 tsp of ground red chile pepper and I only had 5 pieces of chicken. Everyone in my family loved it, even my two year old neice! This recipe makes a ton of food, so leftovers all week. mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Loved it! I made it for me and my boyfriend tonight and it was great! I added half of a large yellow onion, a teaspoon of minced garlic, and had to replace the fresh cilantro with dried. I also used diced tomatoes with green chilies for extra heat. I topped it with low fat shredded cheddar cheese and fresh scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this today and the husband loved it! I added fresh avocado to and tortillas strips on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Fantastic! I made this recipe just as specified except I used the tomatoes with green chiles instead of just diced tomatoes and I added half of a yellow onion, diced. For some reason, I just have to put onions in everything. Even without them, this stew would be excellent. I didn't have to remove any of the liquid as recommended to end up with a nice stew texture, however mine did cook in the slow cooker for nearly twelve hours. I tasted it when I was rushing out the door after about 10 hours and was really skeptical of adding the cream cheese because it tasted so good without it, however, the cream cheese really does add a different dimension to the flavor profile. I like that I can omit that if necessary next time I make it, as all of the other ingredients I usually have on hand. This is a quick and easy stew and is definitely a keeper. My husband calls it "spicy Brunswick stew" and I find that name rather fitting. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Fantastic!! Elected to use 3-3/4 lbs. of skinless, boneless chicken thighs rather than chicken breasts. For the diced tomatoes, used 4, 10 oz. cans of Rotel Hot Diced Tomatoes w/ Habaneros. For Taco Seasoning, used 6 tsp. of Taco Seasoning I by B. Echols from this site. We choose to make this as a soup, leaving the extra flavorful liquid (if making as a stew, reserve the liquid for use in other dishes). The addition of cream cheese is a nice twist, but this soup can easily stand on its own. The habanero peppers definitely ramped up the heat, but perfect for us. We used a 6 qt. slow cooker, and it was full to within an inch of overfilling {and we probably used at least a pound less of chicken}. Our cooking time was 4 hrs. on low, and followed by 2 hrs. on high. MSHELLZ2U, your roommate did you right, and thankfully you cleaned out your cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
That was wonderful! I used only 1 can of diced tomatooes, 1 can of rotel, a bit less chicken and low sodium taco seasoning. Fantastic! Everyone loved this one. Served with a dollop of sour cream, as it did have a bit of a kick. Also, this makes a lot! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennerdell, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The best recipe I've tried from here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I used my own homemade taco seasoning and I upped the cilantro. I had some red peppers I needed to use so I sauteed those with some sliced onion and fresh minced garlic and threw all that in the crockpot with everything else. This is off the charts delicious. The cream cheese makes it just creamy enough without going overboard. One of the best soups I've had in a long time--nevermind it's incredibly simple to make. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was delicious. And easy. Will definitely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States