Latin-Inspired Spicy Cream Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I have made this recipe multiple of times .. however, I add an extra chicken breast, an extra can of the diced tomatoes (all low-sodium), an extra can of corn (will be switching to frozen corn after this however), an extra can of bean (Low-sodium, as well, however, depending upon whether my daughter is included pinto or black beans as she is allergic to black beans), up the taco seasoning to 1.5 packages .. (plan on making my own after I run out of the packages I have on hand, although I use low-sodium). 1.5 Tablesppons of fresh cilantro and 1.5 packages (12 oz) of cream cheese. It serves 10 easily this way ... seems like the magic number over here .. would probably serve 12 if some are small children. Serve with Sour cream, green onions, tortilla chips, & greated cheese .... recipe is always requested ... that makes it a hit in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This was sooo good. I cooked it on the stove and put in cooked chicken that I baked and then I poured in the "chicken broth" that was left over in the pan. I also never use taco seasoning anymore. I just season with cumin, chilli powder, cayenne, onion powder, garlic pepper, salt, etc. to taste. It was sooo good. I also added onions. This will be a weekly rotation. The cream cheese really kicks it up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is a great, easy recipe. I loved it so much I made another batch two days later. I used my own homemade taco seasoning (1T.chili powder, 1t.seasoned salt, 1/2t. garlic powder, 1/4 t. cumin, dash of Tabasco, 2 T chopped pimentos -optional)upped the cilantro and added frozen mixed veggies, as that is all I had. It was SO GOOD! This time I added chipotle chilis to see how that comes out. It's cooking now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very tasty but I would definitely serve in corn and/or flour tortillas as opposed to over rice. Hot sauce and guacamoli would be a plus too. Spicier green hot sauce would be a plus too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Personally I loved this recipe but what is wrong with my family???? The flavors were robust, the chicken was tender and so yummy. Daughter said too much cilantro, Son gave no reason, Husband said it seemed like it should be in a taco without all the sauce. Argh! Just get a tortilla, why don't you?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Mewowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I used my leftover Thanksgiving turkey in this recipe in place of the chicken. It turned out so good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Delicious! I made this dish just as called for on the recipe except for only putting in 1/4 tsp of ground red chile pepper and I only had 5 pieces of chicken. Everyone in my family loved it, even my two year old neice! This recipe makes a ton of food, so leftovers all week. mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lasich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Loved it! I made it for me and my boyfriend tonight and it was great! I added half of a large yellow onion, a teaspoon of minced garlic, and had to replace the fresh cilantro with dried. I also used diced tomatoes with green chilies for extra heat. I topped it with low fat shredded cheddar cheese and fresh scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this today and the husband loved it! I added fresh avocado to and tortillas strips on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States