Last Minute Chicken Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Great tasting dish, creamy, and full of herb flavor. Only complaint is that it's hard to control the potatoes from getting burned, need to keep a close eye on them at all times. Also, requires a very large pan in order for everything to cook properly. Overall, it is definitely worth making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This recipe is easy and delicious--and I even used the 98% fat free version of the cream of chicken soup because it's all I had on hand. This recipe was much better than I imagined it would be--my husband loved it too. I made delicious homemade style biscuits to go with it and eating pieces of biscuit mixed in with this meal reminded me of a chicken pot pie. The only thing I would mention is that it is not 4 large servings. It was fine for my family because my two children are preschool age and don't eat a lot. I imagine if you have four very hungry adults, you may want to increase the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Instead of 1/2 cup of milk, use 1/2 cup of broth (canned, chicken or beef is fine). Then, at the end, stir in 1/4 to 1/2 half cup of sour cream (low-fat is fine) and heat through. Much more savory/tangy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This was okay, I thought it would be better considering the rave reviews. After I arranged the frozen veggies on top as the recipe suggested, I had to simmer longer than five minutes in order for them to become tender. As a result, it scorched. Rather than arranging them on top, I think it would be better to stir them in and keep stirring occaisionally through the end of the cooking process. It would probably be a good idea to thaw the veggies first. I skimmed the good stuff off the top and salvaged most of the meal. Overall, I found it a little bland, but salt and more spices will fix that. Also, next time I will omit the potatoes and use noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Yummy recipe. I did a few changes because of what I had on hand. For seasonings I just used the parsley, Basil, garlic and onion powder. I didnt have the frozen vegi's but I dont think my picky eaters would have enjoyed it as much anyway. I used lots of grated chedder instead of parmasean on the top right at the end. My family really loved and the kids even wanted seconds. Wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANAURIOSTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This was delicious! I used a can of diced new potatoes instead of slicing up my own. That worked perfectly! The spices gave the dish such a nice flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
Any cream soup would work well. I also added frozen peas. mmmmmmm.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This was a really tasty dish that my whole family loved. I cooked the chicken breasts in the microwave, then cut it up. I also precooked the vegetables a bit. I used seasoned salt. I also used fat free milk to make it low fat. We served it over rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
This was sooo good! My husband and I loved it! I made some changes that I can recommend: I omitted carrots (personal taste), omitted potatoes and went straight to cooking chicken, using only 1Tblsp. oil., added another 1/2C onion (looks like a lot, but trust me!), and used one full cup of skim milk with healthy request campbells cr. of chicken soup. It came out low fat and so delicious. We put it over wide egg noodles and viola. Thank you for a great, quick idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
It has become a weekly recipe for our family. I change the taste by changing the soup that I add to the recipe. ie: cream of mushroom, cream of celery...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States