Lassy Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this and it was great...the slightly hard crusty top was good. Only changes I made was to no soak the raisins and used nutmeg instead of "mace"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This bread is really nice. Very mild, with a cinnamon taste and a light bread, even with the molasses. I halved this recipe and still got two loaves--I'm thinking my loaf pans are small, as I often end up with higher loaves of bread. I soaked the raisins in boiling water (oops, missed the lukewarm part) for about a 1/2 hour, and it was fine. I also left out the mace since I didn't have it. I thought this turned out really well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This is the first time I have received a notice that I had a review on my recipe. So what a surprise to see all these. I am so glad you have all enjoyed it! It is my favourite bread to make and LOL! to eat. Mom2girls: I have to say that I only use cinnamon. I just increase it. I have found a cinnamon honey spread that is to die for (intense) and next time I make the bread I think I am going to mix it in, replacing the cinnamon. pomplemousse: Thank you so much for posting the picture. Your bread looks great! pomplemousse: I also use boiling water. I also soak the raisins overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Just like Mom's, I only used cinnamon because that's what I'm use to. This brings me home to Labrador whenever I bake this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Labrador City, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Morden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
being from the rock, this recipe brings me home. thank you sooooooooo much for sharing. i incorporated parts of the other reviews and it turns out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I love this lassy bread recipe. I've made it several times. The last time I made it I substituted 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp of allspice for the mace and cloves since I didn't have any on hand. I get 3 large loaves of bread out of this recipe. I freeze two of the loaves so it lasts longer. Take it out of the freezer the night before you intend to eat it and it's almost as good having it right out of the oven. Reminds me of growing up in rural Newfoundland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is the perfect cinnamon raisin bread, if you don't like the swirl kind. It makes great toast too. My changes are as follows: I only used 2 cups of raisins and that was plenty, I soaked the raisins for 2 hours not overnight, and I ran out of molasses so I used half honey which again was delicious but I will stick with molasses next time and see if there is a difference. It turned out fantastic. It made 3 medium size loaves for me and I only baked them for 30 min. at 350 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I have made this bread several times now, it is the best I have ever tasted.The only change made was to substitute 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp allspice for the mace which I didn't have.Beware it is addictive!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States