Lasagna Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I used this recipe tonight. My husband and I like unusual sauces and this one was unique and actually very good. It's all a matter of personal taste. I made only half a recipe and froze the left overs. It is big if you do it all and I believe is meant for large dinner parties. As for the calories if you don't want calories what are you doing looking at Lasagna recipes? I liked the addition of all the vegetables. I did cut the sage because I wanted to sleep tonight and didn't want heartburn! The sausage gives it plenty of flavor. A good recipe if you want something different. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
So delicious and worth the time and effort. I make a meat sauce very much like this all the time, but I loved the addition of the veggies. I added a pinch of red pepper flake and some chopped fresh basil towards the end. Try making your sauce over a weekend when you have time and freeze it. This sauce would be great for any pasta dish including a baked ziti too! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I really liked this lasagna...BUT, I would use 1 or 2 eggs, which would make it less "cakey," just a personal taste. I also would go very lightly on the cinnamon. I added shredded zucchini too and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I couldn't find my own recipe somewhere in my kitchen. This was the closest I came to my own original recipe. I gave this 4 stars because we didn't like the cinnamon. I had to start all over. Things I did differently: mince all veggies instead of chopping. This makes a difference in the sauce and flavor blending. You can use straight Italian sausage, but buy it in bulk instead of messing with casings. The Butcher at the grocery can give it to you that way. I always add a layer of Parmesan cheese in between the Ricotta mixture and the Mozzarella layer. It does make it more cheesier, however, everyone seems to like it better that way. I also doubled the Ricotta mixture as there wasn't enough to layer all the different layers. I like my layers to extend throughout the dish, not just in the middle. As for spices, I added about an extra teaspoon of Pizza seasonings, fresh ground in those little grinders you get at the grocery now. This is about the best basic recipe on this site that I've found. The sauce is the best, if you leave out the cinnamon. You can also take the time to use fresh Roma tomatoes instead of canned for a more authentic flavor. Canned tomatoes always have a metallic flavor to me. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
My first time making this from scratch - definitely a bit more work than I bargained for. I think next time I would make more of the red sauce since I like my lasagna a little saucier and maybe cut down on the parmesean a little as this was a bit salty for my tastes. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very easy to make. I used lasagna that you dont need to boil at all. This saved me some time. I placed all the ingredients and the pasta sheets according to the directions. Dinner was a hit. I took some to work for lunch, but ate it as soon as I got there. I could not wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
worth the extra time. big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Takes a bit longer to make than it says it does. If you do make it omit the Sage it over powers the taste. I will not be making it again my kids did not enjoy it, they said it was "okay" I agree just okay.... think they were being nice since they new how long it took to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
The calories are wonderful on this lasagna... only 568 per serving.... but I would switch out the olive oil for grapeseed oil. It is a "greener" product because it comes from used grapes and you can cook with it at a much higher temperature and it is really healthier for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This would taste better leaving the cinnamon out, altogether. Next time I will use nutmeg instead of Cinnamon. I have been using nutmeg in my sauce for years. Otherwise, it was ok. Very rich and hardy. My husband loves my original lasagna, but he was not to keen on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States