Large White Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I just made this cake, and it was dry, crumbly and very disappointing. I now have to start all over with a different recipe and go to the store to get more ingredients. I will never make this cake again, and would not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
The cake looked great but it sunk in the middle. So, I just went ahead and frosted and decorated to cover it. NOBODY like the cake. It was dry ! I wouldn't recommended anyone making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This cake was a major disappointment! It was extremely heavy and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Maybe i did something wrong also? i make cakes and i got a complaint with this recipe! it's heavy and dry. idk how you ll are saying its moist...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! I substituted soy milk for the regular milk and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Council

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
very good cake, a little heavy- extremely soft, everyone loved this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Maybe i did something wrong because this cake was dry and I did not care for the taste; maybe it was me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Normally, I use a regular cake mix with a few extra ingredients and LOVE it, but since I couldn't find a mix in the house, I decided to try this one. Not sure what I did wrong. It was a bit dry, despite the extra milk I added. Am I the only one who thought this tasted sour? The consistency was more like cornbread...not a very sweet cake at all. My husband liked it, but said he still preferred the box mix. I would have thrown it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nealkel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
the cake was very delicious. but when i made it, it sunk in the middle. so i tried it again, (thinking it was my fault.)and it sunk again. very tasty but couldnt do anything with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This cake was great. It was just perfect topped with crushed strawberries! Yes it is a little dry, but that is just what we needed since the strawberries are runny. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States