Larb - Laotian Chicken Mince Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
What a wonderful recipe!I didnt have shrimp paste but I had some fresh shrimp and cut that up.It came out great.You most try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staycie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Wow! This is a great recipe. We made this last night served on some lettuce wraps which makes for a great presentation. This tasted better than most you can find in many restaurants we've been. We didn't have shrimp paste so left this ingredient out and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I have the honor of being an occasional taste tester for Baking Nana. This is truly an exceptional dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Super star recipe~Perfectly delicious! The ingredients are simple; the flavor is authentic, intense and spicy-hot! Really enjoyed making this salad at home and it's such a pretty presentation. I serve it with basil and mint leaves, squeeze of lime and wrap the chicken with the green cabbage. Thanks Baking Nana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I love this recipe!! I have been searching for a similar dish laab and have to say I like this one so much better. It is wonderful on top of lettuce, or wrapped in lettuce. I have made it with the ginger/lime and it was wonderful but have to say ginger was missed when I did not have it. This recipe is so good, I will find the galangal and buy lots of it because I could eat this a few times a week. I did not use the shrimp paste, and can't say I missed it, delicious. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabefarmer
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is exquisite no matter how many times I alter it. I have to say, although galangal sounds exotic enough to not be found easy through most groceries store, it is definitely worth getting. It is so aromatic and adds so much flavor to the larb! I would have to say the first time, allowing all of the juices to evaporate in the 3rd step made the chicken too dry. The second time, as soon as i finished seasoning the ground chicken with the shrimp paste, fish sauce, and sugar (and crab paste just because i was curious), I added the lime juice, mint, and basil right away. The 2nd time turned out alot juicier and my whole laotian house was happy. You can't mess this recipe up! Authentic and delicious! Thanks Nana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My sister in law is from Thailand and makes this recipe. She makes it with ground pork, chicken or lamb. She did not use shrimp sauce or galangal. You can also buy already ground rice at most asian markets and then you just brown it up. If you can get thai peppers, that makes a difference. Once the chicken, pork, lamb is cooked, you add the rice, thai peppers, shallots, green onion, fish sauce, lime juice to taste and cilantro. We always serve with cabbage leaves or over rice. It is sooo good and really easy to make. Also good served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I'll have to defer to our Laotian friends as to this dish's authenticity, but holy mackerel, it was good! I upped the chili peppers a bit since I'm an insatiable chili fiend, but it had that perfect blend of hot/sweet/sour/salty/aromatic that I've come to associate with Southeast Asian food. And even with all the flavors, the fresh herbal quality really shone. I ate it mixed with leaf lettuce over rice with cucumber spears on the side and I can honestly say that I could eat this every day and never tire of it. (Galangal isn't available in my area, so I substituted half the amount of ginger and a quarter the amount of fennel seed since to me, galangal has vague licorice notes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I skipped the shrimp paste (too smelly for me!) and the rice (fewer carbs!), and served it lettuce-wrap style with crunchy Napa cabbage leaves. Delish! Even Mr. Nicholio liked it. Thanks, Baking Nana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This dish was delicious! My daughter, who lived in Laos for a few months, said that next time we will use less meat and chop it instead of grinding it. Also, we will up the mint and basil. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States