Lap Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
simple, flavorful, economical, different... 4 things that makes this recipe a winner! Chef Marian Thompson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Really healthy and tasty salad. We had to add a lot of lite mayo, though, b/c we had so much cabbage (1/2 head is a lot!). Still great and we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is one of my favorite salads - I, too, like to use the tricolor preshredded slaw to make it - for an extra special salad for special occasions (or just whenever!) I like to add some chopped apple and red and green seedles grapes, cut in half - so good! This was very popular at military functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Such a wonderful salad! We couldn't wait overnight, so just ate it right away. I used splenda instead of regular sugar, and as others suggested, rice wine vinegar, and a splash of sesame oil. Thanks, will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I agreed to "help" with a 40th anniversary party for 130. I ended up doing everything but the meat courses. I wanted an easy salad that didn't get mushy and didn't contain mayo since the party was outdoors. I used rice vingegar and added fresh cilantro and red cabbage for color. Like other reviewers I added the noodles about an hour before serving instead of the night before. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette Castro

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Very good. My husband and I both liked it. A nice refreshing salad on a hot day, economical too. Used chopped peanuts and doubled the noodles and dressing. My husband needs to drown his salad. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is pretty good. I didnt have any sesame seeds so I used a little sesame oil with the other oil and it worked out nicely. Surprisingly, my 2 year old loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Had nice texture, but very bland. ...won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Yummy! Loved this! The changes I made were as following: Used seseme oil instead of actual seseme seeds (didn't have them). Toasted almonds and broke up ramen noodles which I added when I served (don't like them mushy). Did not use chicken because I used it as a side dish instead of main entree. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
We really enjoyed this salad. For convenience, I use a 16oz bag of Fresh Express 3-color slaw. I also substitute about 1/3 of the vegetable oil with sesame oil for more flavor. It doesn't even need to stand overnight, just a few hours works well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States