Land of Nod Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I am confused, do you prepare the pudding mix? Or just use the powder? I have tried it both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is a family tradition at our house. I make this on Christmas Eve and keep in the fridge overnight (to prevent over-rising). Christmas morning I let it set at room temperature for 45 minutes, or until double. I use Rhodes Frozen Roll dough 24 and cut them in half. Roll them in the dry cook and serve pudding.(sprinkle remaining dry pudding over the top of rolls). I melt 1/2 C. butter and 1/2 C brown sugar in the microwave to make a syrup and pour that over the top. This recipe is fabulous, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Yummy! These were great. Everyone loved them. Also, I added pecans and made frosting to go over them (2 cups powdered sugar, 3 tbsp. melted butter, 1/2 tsp. vanilla & 3 tbsp. milk) and they were definitely a hit. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
For everyone that's confused about "sprinkle the pudding mix", think about it. It's pretty clear on what you need to do...sprinkle...the...pudding...mix. Not make the pudding. Why would anyone sprinkle a made pudding...that doesn't even make sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jackson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I have been making monkey bread for years but this one is the best because of ease of making and the addition of the vanilla pudding mix! Rhodes frozen dinner rolls were fantastic in my recipe - a welcome break from canned biscuit dough. I used the quick thaw method & proofed the entire bundt after layering in the oven. (To do this, preheat to 200 degrees, microwave dough balls for 30 seconds each side; layer recipe as directed; put dough in and turn the oven OFF; wait a couple of hours; bake as directed.) I love the sprinkling & layering - so easy! Who knew??? I did use more butter. This one will be a staple at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I AGREE WITH THE OTHER REVIEWER. LESSEN THE BR. SUGAR. IT HAS MORE OF A STRUDEL TOPPING THAN A CARMELLY ONE. IT WAS GOOD BUT TOO MUCH SUGAR FOR THE AMOUNT OF BUTTER. THERE WAS A CRYSTALLY (SUGARY)CONSISTENCY TO THE TOPPING. VERY TASTY, BUT IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A "CARAMEL" TOPPING DON'T MAKE THIS ONE. SOMEONE SUGGESTED POURING THE BUTTER OVER IT IN THE MORNING, SO THE SUGAR DOESN'T SIT IN IT ALL NIGHT. DOES ANYONE AGREE WITH ME?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this Christmas morning - hoping it would turn out because I hadn't tried it before. It was perfect! I had to use an 8x8 pan because I didn't have a bundt pan but it worked great, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
first of all, let's give credit to the Best of Bridge cookbooks that this recipe came out of. Secondly, I have prepared this recipe no less than 100 times, and except for the time I apparently had a little too much egg nog on Xmas eve and forgot the melted butter....it never fails!! I usually add pecans. This has been used for over 25 years in our house for Xmas, birthday sleepovers, family brunch. I would NEVER make it for just my husband and myself now! I'd eat the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I even used frozen whole wheat rolls. You absolutely have to use the wet cloth, otherwise the rolls will become really dry before baking (a mistake I made). I put them in the refrigerator like another reviewer had suggested, and then set them out for 45 minutes before baking. A fantastic treat on Christmas morning. Nothing needs to be added or taken away. My dad said that they tasted like I bought them from a bakery! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
These are great, however, I prefer to use butterscotch pudding mix instead of vanilla. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States