Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Very good, nice flavour, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I am a novice cook and this is the first time I've ever made French onion soup. I'm pretty picky about this kind of soup and it turned out AMAZINGLY!! It was easy to make and full of flavor. You can't get that taste out of a can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet G.
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Since I am avoiding bread and cheese, I wanted more substance in my onion soup. I sauted 1 cup of sliced mushrooms, 1/2 cup of chopped green onion, 1 cup of sliced celery, and 1 sliced large white onion in the butter and oil. I added 1/2 a cup of sherry and a little worcestershire sauce to the vegetables. I cut the amount of sugar in half but still added the white wine to the soup. I call this drunken onion soup! My husband loved it. He said that it is better than the onion soup at a nice restaurant. I'm going to use the leftover soup as a starter for elk stew tomorrow evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Loved this recipe. I tried hard to find a recipe with brandy in it. I've been told french onion soup is not done right without a shot of brandy. After making this recipe twice, I very much have to disagree. The white wine in this recipe adds a lot of flavor. It's a very easy, simple recipe that cooks up fast and tastes delicious. I like a more brothy soup so only went with 3-4 onions which was plenty. Still tons of onion in each serving. And I use a slice of provolone cheese instead of swiss. Just personal preference. Great recipe! Will be making it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
THis was really quite easy to make and oh my gosh was it good!! I'm hooked!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was excellent! I had sweet onions, plus added the sugar called for in the recipe, so it was a tad too sweet. But my family loved it and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Delicious! I added a little Worcestershire sauce and used a couple of different types of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Found this same recipe years ago while doing a search..Had it printed out and couldn't find it tonight when I wanted to make it again. We love this soup and have been making it for years. A staple for Thanksgiving Dinner also!! Everyone loves it, we have passed on the recipe to family...keeper for us!! Thanks Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Right on! I made this a few days ago... I omitted the sugar - and I added two beef bullion cubes to the beef broth for a ramped-up beef flavor. I also used a shredded blend of Swiss and Gruyere found at T.J.'s, which was fabulous. I've made several different recipes for French Onion Soup over the years - including some much more complicated & involved than this one - and this one is as good as it gets. I will use this recipe again, with my slight modifications. Thanks, Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
An absolute keeper! Great anytime of year. It is perfect as is, I just did 4 onions instead of 5:-) Thx Lance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States