Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
THis was really quite easy to make and oh my gosh was it good!! I'm hooked!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was excellent! I had sweet onions, plus added the sugar called for in the recipe, so it was a tad too sweet. But my family loved it and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Delicious! I added a little Worcestershire sauce and used a couple of different types of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Found this same recipe years ago while doing a search..Had it printed out and couldn't find it tonight when I wanted to make it again. We love this soup and have been making it for years. A staple for Thanksgiving Dinner also!! Everyone loves it, we have passed on the recipe to family...keeper for us!! Thanks Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Right on! I made this a few days ago... I omitted the sugar - and I added two beef bullion cubes to the beef broth for a ramped-up beef flavor. I also used a shredded blend of Swiss and Gruyere found at T.J.'s, which was fabulous. I've made several different recipes for French Onion Soup over the years - including some much more complicated & involved than this one - and this one is as good as it gets. I will use this recipe again, with my slight modifications. Thanks, Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
An absolute keeper! Great anytime of year. It is perfect as is, I just did 4 onions instead of 5:-) Thx Lance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
My family loved this soup. Even my kids who normally won't touch onions, liked it. I did leave out the wine, but I don't know that it made much difference. I have made a couple of different versions of French Onion Soup including some with a combination of chicken and beef broth, but this is my favorite! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Excellent French onion soup. I used less oil and butter to cut the fat calories and it still was great. A little confused on the amount of onion, since the vary in size so much. I used 5 cups sliced and it was just right for my tastes. I also added 1/2 tsp thyme and a bay leaf and 1 clove crushed garlic. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul W. Heaton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This soup is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I love this recipe! I used large thick pieces of buttered, toasted French bread, and Antonio Gelisi white wine. My bread stole all the broth and I was left with a huge soaked piece of bread, which some would love, but next time I will use a smaller piece, or serve it on the side. I pureed about half of the onions before adding the broth, just to thicken, and to hide the evidence from my grandkids, lol. I added too much broth, so I boiled it down, added some onion powder and lots of pepper. I melted provolone on top of the French bread and soup, like a restaurant I went to years ago. The provolone was a bit of a fight though. Will try the swiss and smoked gruyere like another rater. This recipe is superb, and so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States