Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was awesome! I doubled the sauce as recommended and added broccoli - the kids (even the BIG kids) gobbled it right up! Thank you for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I halved the meatball mixture and followed the exact measurements on sauce mix and it turned out really good (I added red pepper flakes to spice it up a little). I can't fathom following the recipe as stated, becauce the sauce mixture is not enough for that many meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LauraJean
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was DELICIOUS!! My husband and I were savoring every single bite and kept looking at each other and laughing because we couldn't believe how good it was! I didn't have pineapple chunks so I used crushed pineapple instead. It actually worked wonderfully and it was pretty great having pineapple in every bite! I still love large pineapple chunks so will try that next time. I also added a red bell pepper since I had one in my refrigerator and needed to use it up before it went bad. It was a great addition! The only thing I would really change next time just to add a little more jazz would be to omit the ground ginger and instead julienne fresh ginger instead. We LOVE ginger, so having bites of whole ginger would be so yummy! I LOVE the meatballs even alone. I am going to make a whole bunch and freeze them as some have suggested to use in other recipes. What a great idea! This is a really fun recipe to make. I thoroughly enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraJean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Overall, this recipe was a hit. As others have said, there is not enough sauce for the full 2lb of ground beef so I would also recommend doubling the sauce or halving the meatballs. I did not find the need to add the extra salt, even using lite soy sauce. Sauce is thick and tangy, meatballs are moist and flavorful, veggies and pineapple give great crunch and sweetness. Will definitely make again. The two parts to this recipe could each stand alone to be used with other foods. Try the sauce and veggies with chicken or baked tofu and the meatballs with marinara! Very adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The meatballs need more flavor. With alot of soy sauce I enjoyed eating them. My husband and daughter on the other hand didn't like it at all. I now have 3 recipes my husband never wants me to make again! I think it was the pineapples and the non flavored meatballs that got him. Sorry, not gonna keep this recipe for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is the best recipe for sweet and sour sauce. I do add and extra tablespoon of vinegar and also about 2 tablespoons of ketchup. I also only added the pineapple pieces and omitted the other veg in the recipe. Cut the bread crumbs to a little less thatn 3/4 of a cup. Found the meatballs a bit gummy with all those breadcrumbs. Also cooked meatballs until cooked through and let cool. Made the sauce and re-heated the meatballs when I was ready for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
A wonderful recipe! My (picky) husband commented on how wonderful it was after the first bite. Thank you, Lanan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was very good. Made it for my daughters Luau party and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was such a simple and tasty meal! I didn't put the peppers in, since we don't like them. Reheats like a dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinatheteach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Quite good. I added about a cup of ketchup, cut the sugar in half, and added red pepper and onions. I had to more than double the sauce to make enough. It came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States