Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Really good! I halved the meatball recipe and did a full sauce batch. Instead of stovetop cooking them,I baked them sauce and balls in the oven while my rice was in the rice pot. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Linn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Really Good! I doubled the sauce and served over pre-made chicken nuggets and shrimp fried rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This one’s a winner! Very good! I used a mix of peppers (green, red, yellow and orange) and no carrot. I steamed them, so they would maintain their vibrant color, until just crisp tender. I prepared the sauce, omitting the ginger, as I’m not a fan, and reducing the brown sugar. I added a cornstarch/water slurry to just thicken this slightly, as I hadn’t doubled the sauce as other reviewers suggested and I wanted it to go as far as possible. I added the meatballs, peppers and pineapple chunks, and just heated through. Served over white rice, this was wonderful and very pretty! I’ll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Very easy to make and delicious!!! Wasn't too sure about having pineapple with my meatballs but it gave it just the right amount of sweetness. The only subsitution I made was I used lean turkey instead. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
The recipe was very easy to follow, there is definitely some preparation that go into it, but it is worth the work and it turned out absolutely delicious! It is my boyfriend's favorite dish and he said it was much better than his mother's! Just don't tell her that ;) We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
everyone loved it and it was simple to make. a winner both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was a huge hit with the whole family- and for once, I didn't change anything! Actually, the only thing I did differently was to not cook the meatballs in the sauce. I found that 12min in the oven was perfect. It was so colourful and felt Hawaiin. The sweet-sour ratio was perfect. Definitely will be making this again, and would be proud to serve it to company :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
YUMMY!!!! Doubling up the sauce is a MUST if you plan on serving these over rice. In the meatballs and sauce I used fresh ginger and I did replace some of the pineapple juice with chicken broth so my daughter wouldn't once again say it's too fruity (I don't think she cares much more for the fruit/meat combo) Thanks for the great recipe Lana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made a single recipe for the meatballls and doubled the sauce but I added 1/2 cup ketchup and a large springle of chipolte powder. RT is a sauce fanatic. He loved it had two helpings which does'nt happen often. I served it with stirfried carrots, red pepper, snow peas, and bean sprouts.I also added fresh ginger, minced fresh garlic, seasame oil, and toasted sesame seeds and a springle of crushed red pepper flakes. This worked well with the main course. Thanks lana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States