Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
i used ground turkey and added a lot of minced garlic to the meatballs then served over brown rice. it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Awesome dish! I made this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe for the sauce, even though I only had one can of pineapple. I just used all the juice and added enough water as recipe states. I also baked meatballs for about 20 minutes, heated with sauce for about 10 minutes, and left out carrot and bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is my go-to recipe. Simple and yummy. I find more sauce is needed though so I freeze about half the meatballs for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Sorry Lana, but this was not a hit with us. The sauce is good but the meatballs are kind of lacking much flavour. I think that maybe sweet & sour just doesn't 'go with' meatballs. Chicken or pork would've tasted better than meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaLoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was a fabulous recipe that many people raved over! As others suggested, I doubled the sauce recipe. As a quick meal idea I have also used the sauce with store boughten meatballs and the result has been great as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I made these using ground buffalo and served them over Jasmine rice. Outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Eh. These were average at best. I guess I'm in the minority here as these seem to be a winner for most folks. I still stand true to MEMBER81872's sweet and sour meatballs. They were the first I ever tried (I stumbled upon the recipe in the Allrecipes cookbook I received ages ago) and are by far the best - EVER!!! :) Lana's MB's were mediocre in comparison. It just goes to show you that sometimes the overlooked recipes on here are the real gems (Member's recipe has only 24 reviews). I usually find myself tweaking new recipes, but didn't make any major changes this time. All I did was substitute a red bell pepper for the green one called for (happened to have one handy) and halve the MB portion. I don't consider either of these modifications drastic enough to significantly alter the recipe and they in no way swayed my rating. I kept everything else as is and am glad I did. I had plenty of sauce to cover my MB's and veggies with. Served atop steamed white rice with Hawaiian rolls on the side, this was an allright meal. I'm glad to have given your recipe a try, but the vote at my house is no repeat (sorry!). Thanks anyways, Lana! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Very good and easy to make. I made a little extra sauce which it needs, otherwise it is just enough to glaze them. One thing I found was my diced carrot did not get as tender as I would think correct so either smaller dice or a quick parboil for the diced carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I just made this for the first time, it is so good! I would recemend either cuting the ground beef down to 1 lb or double the sauce recipe, i made it with 2 lbs ground beef and 1 found i needed 3 eggs instead of 2,and i used Pastene Italian bread crumbs, the meatballs were to die for, don't omit anything, it is good as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadene

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States