Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
My family loves it! It is a very good recipe and easy to make! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Domingue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Technically like a 4.8 since I tweaked it just a little to my family's tastes. I have made this dish twice now. The first time was exactly as the recipe stated, but it was a little too sweet and I didn't care for the ginger. The second time was perfect for our family. I omitted the ginger entirely and served over steamed white rice drizzled with soy sauce due to the overwhelming sweetness. I also made 50% more sauce than this recipe called for because we really enjoyed it. Thanks so much for sharing! Super easy for a busy mom of 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Excellent recipe! Everyone who tries it likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
A big hit in the family. Preschooler took one bite and declared it delicious. Husband thought it a little too sweet but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Outstanding recipe! When making meatballs, you can use grocer packaged beef/pork/veal mixture with terrific results, too. I found that about 1.4 lb meat generates about 3 1/2 dozen meatballs and the perfect amount to be covered by the sauce. If reducing your meat, adjust only the other meatball ingredients accordingly, and use one egg instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
My mom used to make this all of the time so naturally I've added it to my cooking repertoire now that I'm on my own. My boyfriend loves it. Definitely double the sauce or cut the meatballs recipe in half (depending on how many you're serving). We serve ours over quinoa and a side of broccoli or green beans. TIP FOR BEGINNER COOKS: whisk your cornstarch with a little tepid water before adding to your sauce. Eliminates lumps :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was really good! I pan fried the meatballs which turned out great. I also added more pineapple than called for, just because I like a bit of pineapple with every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This sauce is fantastic in flavor. It's pretty in presentation & can be frozen. I am using it for a wedding & tested the frozen factor so I can make ahead. I doubled the vinegar for less sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
YUM! This was excellent! I can't say enough good things about it! I served it over a bed of white rice and it made for a delicious dinner! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Unbelievably good! I used 3 lbs of ground beef (I have a large family) and doubled the incredible sauce recipe. Perfect ratio. EVERYONE loved it! This will be a monthly menu item in our home for sure! Thanks SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States