Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Wow finding this recipe was a total blast from the past. 30 years ago when I was a newly single mom of 2 boys money was very tight and back then and living in England meatballs were not a common everyday food, but I used this recipe with canned tuna!! It was cheap and my boys adored it. Served over rice just as this recipe and we ate it for years. For some reason I forgot about it............ this brought back lots of memories about the struggle I had back then, going to college and working, with two boys. Made it last night with homemade meatballs and it was as gorgeous as I remembered. Going to feed it to my grandkids now!! Found a vegetarian meatball recipe so now I can make it for my other set of grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The BEST homemade sweet & sour sauce ever! It will go great with any kind of meat. I realized I didn't have any corn starch, so I substituted flour with no problem. The meatballs were just ok. A bit boring. But the sauce? Amazing. I also doubled the sauce and am glad I did - I'd hate to see how little of sauce would have been left if I left it single. Will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flowergirl21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I cut the meat portion in half, so I only used one pound of beef instead of two, and altered the ingredients accordingly. My kids loved the meatballs, and the sauce was perfect. This will now be my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ando

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
We did like this, I doubled the sauce-couldn't find any soy sauce,so left that out & had to make my own breadcrumbs-1 hamburger bun was enough. I used my food processor to chop the carrot, onion,& bell pepper. To add more flavor I did mix in a bit of honey & Dijon mustard at the end. I will make this again,& add in some pork sausage to the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is definitely one of my family's favorite recipes. Both of my kids love it (3 and 7 yo) and cheer every time I tell them this is what we are having. The only thing I do differently is use ground turkey to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
needs more salt and pepper than i put in but absolutely DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My husband loved these! Double the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was a good recipe. Very tasty sauce so I did double it to put on our rice. I liked the carrots in the sauce. We could get some extra veggies into our diet this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I made this recipe exact as printed. However, I found that 3 tablespoons of cornstarch was a bit much and actually made the sauce too thick. I had to thin it with additional pineapple juice. I will only use 1 tablespoon of cornstarch next time. Overall it had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
First of all if you don't like sweet and sour this recipe will not be liked. Spice it up with chili flakes if you like hotter. If you want a little less sweet don't add ketchup! Try taking out a bunch of or all the sugar. You can add more flavor to the meat balls like a bit extra soy sauce or Spike seasoning but should concentrate, imho, on the sauce flavor as that is really the point of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States