Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Doubled the sauce and had ground turkey on hand and no bell peppers. I liked it and will make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I omitted the eggs and the white sugar from the meatballs but followed the rest to a tee and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Meatballs were great, flavorful. Sauce was great as well. I had to use flour instead of cornstarch as it's what I had on hand. I also used fresh pineapple so I didn't have any juice. I used the juice from a can of pears to make sure the sauce turned out ok. Satisfied my craving, I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Fantastic. Sauce is a little sparse for the amount of meatballs. Almost worth doubling the sauce, alternatively cut the number of meatballs. (That's the difference between 4 & 5 stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The recipe is excellent. I just cook for two so I cut the meatball part in half and I doubled the sauce and served over rice. I still had a lot left over, but it was just as good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
First time ever that I made sweet and sour meatballs. It was quick, easy, and delicious. I cut the recipe in half for two of us for dinner, but when I saw the number of meatballs it made I kept half of them out of the sauce to freeze for later. So basically I cut the sauce in half and it was the perfect amount. I didn't have a green pepper; I used cabbage instead - that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I do love sweet and sour but never thought of doing it with meatballs....was looking up recipes for ground beef and this one came up. Just the inspiration I needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I made this for a small group adult dinner as an appetizer. Rave reviews!!! I didn't have the ginger, so I left it out - still a great alternative to the tomato based sauces for meatballs. I doubled it and cut a bit of the sugar. I precooked the sauce and then let it cook in my slow cooker with frozen turkey meat balls - A Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I did not add any sugar to the meatballs and they were fine without it. We cut the veggies to a small dice because little kids were eating it. I doubled the sauce recipe but only added a scant one third cup of brown sugar. We also added pineapple chunks. Next time I will only add 1/4 cup of brown sugar or less to see if that helps the over-the-top sweetness of the dish. We served it for dinner and served it over brown rice /quinoa mix from Costco that takes 90 seconds in the microwave and roasted Brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I use this recipe regularly for guests. I double the sauce and pour over the meatballs which have been cooked and fill my large crockpot with the added pineapple, green peppers and partially cooked carrots. Then turn on low and let sit for 3-4 hours. That way I can get the other details for dinner done. Rave reviews every time. Not giving 5 stars because without a double on the sauce, there wouldn't be enough to put on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States