Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very good and easy to make. I followed the directions the first time, but used turkey meat and the meat was a little bland but the sauce was great. I figured it was probably me on the meat. 2nd time used TJ meatballs much better and the sauce is yummy! Great to bring to a party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYKINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
wow!!! SO DELICIOUS! so I always read the reviews. at least a good 25 or so anyways, you get a real feel for the recipe I think. Anyways, these meatballs are ROCKIN!!!! Ok, seriously, yes, it takes 15 minutes more to make your own meatballs than it does to just buy a bag of frozen at the grocery store, but REALLY! if you knew how the food industry has cut corners to bring you the cheapest, unhealthiest possible for your "CONVENIENCE" I think you might change your mind about all that junk! Off of my soapbox though, I just ate one of the best meals we've had in a long time! I diced up three carrots and used a very large green pepper and so mine was heavy on the veggies but that's how I justify ground beef, so whatever. I left out the onions in the meatballs I find they only make the meatballs fall apart and I added a tsp of onion and garlic powder. I also don't add breadcrumbs or oatmeal to meatballs as that really just absorbs the fat from the burger and I'd just rather leave that on the baking pan. Also I did not add sugar to my meatballs...I'm sorry, that just seems gross to me...I like my sugar in the sauce on the outside of the meatball, thank you very much ;) Anyways, make double the meatballs and freeze half because you are going to want this meal again very soon and that part will be done. I can't wait to make this again. I'm going to double up all the prep work and freeze half of the entire so that I can whip this up very quickly midweek. THE WHOLE FAMILY LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Delicious!! And easy!! For a quick week night dinner, I used frozen meatballs. I plan in the future on trying it with chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Very good taste. Not overly sweet at all. Only complaint - I had four servings of meatballs but the sauce really only made enough to cover half of that. A keeper nevertheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Delicious sauce. I had to change some things about the meat balls themselves, not because there was anything wrong with the recipe, but because I was using veggie crumbles instead of ground beef. (Doubled the egg and the spices, added garlic) Still turned out wonderful! Based on other reviewers suggestions I doubled the sauce. Served over rice. We very much enjoyed this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
My family loves it! It is a very good recipe and easy to make! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Technically like a 4.8 since I tweaked it just a little to my family's tastes. I have made this dish twice now. The first time was exactly as the recipe stated, but it was a little too sweet and I didn't care for the ginger. The second time was perfect for our family. I omitted the ginger entirely and served over steamed white rice drizzled with soy sauce due to the overwhelming sweetness. I also made 50% more sauce than this recipe called for because we really enjoyed it. Thanks so much for sharing! Super easy for a busy mom of 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Excellent recipe! Everyone who tries it likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
A big hit in the family. Preschooler took one bite and declared it delicious. Husband thought it a little too sweet but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Outstanding recipe! When making meatballs, you can use grocer packaged beef/pork/veal mixture with terrific results, too. I found that about 1.4 lb meat generates about 3 1/2 dozen meatballs and the perfect amount to be covered by the sauce. If reducing your meat, adjust only the other meatball ingredients accordingly, and use one egg instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States