Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sirena 954
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Loved this and i made it gluten free by making my bread crumbs from toasted gluten free Udi millet-chia bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sirena 954

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Lana, your recipe is excellent. It's very easy to make. And it tastes great. The sauce is PERFECT.It's the best sweet and sour sauce I have ever had. Thanks so much for submitting your recipe. I used a small cookie ball scoop to measure my meatballs. Baking them on a sheet tray in the oven was a great idea because so much of the fat renders out. I'm never going to fry meatballs in a pan again. I'm sure this is NOT a low calorie recipe but eliminating some of the fat is a great idea. I prefer home made to store bought. Your sauce is a great one. I will never buy another bottled sweet and sour sauce. By the way, I followed your recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DADAY
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Wow wee!! Couldn't wait to try this and was not in the least disappointed!! Definitely double the sauce...I used about a pound and a half of ground chuck and still doubled the sauce and the ratio of sauce to meat was perfect. Would not have wanted any less sauce. I decided not to add carrots and instead used one red and one orange bell pepper bc thought the carrot wouldn't have cooked enough but now think the extra crunch of the carrot would have worked out great. Used almost 4 tbsp of cornstarch which turned out great so I did NOT double that. Added a little more soy sauce to counter the sweetness as it was a touch too sweet at first but once you add the meatballs and peppers the sweet factor was not as noticeable. Decided to add about 1/4 or touch more tsp of red pepper flakes at the end which put it over the top! Sorry for the long post but just loved this and want to remember how I put it together for the thousand of times I'll make this again! Oh also thought this would be more time consuming but it really wasn't at all. Thanks for the post! So enjoyed making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Loved it! Doubled the sauce and it came out great. I used ground turkey and added Lipton's onion mix along with what the recipe called for. I used flour as a thickener instead of corn starch because I didn't have any. I served it over brown rice and added snow peas. It is a wonderful dish that I have added to my dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Not my cup of tea. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Easy to follow recipe which turned out perfectly at first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Noosa, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Made this last evening and it was a hit! Took other's advice and doubled the sauce. Also doubled Peppers and pineapple. I had three small bell peppers, red,yellow and green so used those. I sliced the carrots very thinly. The first thing I did was put two cans of pineapple in a colander over a bowl to drain while I made the meatballs. I got 2 cups of juice w/o water. I had 20 oz of ground turkey so used that instead of the 2 lbs of ground beef. I added a Tbsp of beef base (after mixing it in a little water) to the meat mixture to give the ground turkey more flavor. I used the same amount of breadcrumbs and seasonings as the recipe called for except the salt, because of the beef base having salt in it. I only had panko breadcrumbs so I used that. I have a small scoop for the meatballs so I ended up with 32 even sized meatballs. I used parchment paper in the cooking pan and baked them for 17 minutes. They were perfectly done and Oh my, I tasted one out of the oven and declared this my all-time favorite meatballs! Not one drop of grease in the pan and no cleanup with the parchment liner. I tasted the doubled sauce and added a couple more spoonfuls of vinegar to give it a little more balance, so it wasn't too sweet. I simmered the carrots and bell peppers in sauce until almost done, but still crisp, then added the pineapple and meatballs to simmer about 10 minutes more. Served over buttered brown rice flavored with a little soy sauce. Thanks Lana, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
oh my goodness. Kids raved. I was absolutely thrilled with the taste. I will make the meatballs again and freeze them for a make ahead menu. I see endless possibilities. I Made the recipe exactly as given. Oh and I made them too early so I dumped them in the crock pot to simmer on low. Even better. Sauce was just right in texture and meatball were tender and soaked in the sauce. I got one 'that taste better than I expected'. a true compliment, especially after the second big plate. You made grandma a winner tonight. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Sorry, I don't use white vinegar to cook with, I don't use lean ground beef for meatballs, so, I used 1lb ground chuck, 1lb ground pork, use oatmeal instead of bread crumbs, triple the sauce and had a fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Will not add the extra can of pineapple juice next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States