Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I use this recipe regularly for guests. I double the sauce and pour over the meatballs which have been cooked and fill my large crockpot with the added pineapple, green peppers and partially cooked carrots. Then turn on low and let sit for 3-4 hours. That way I can get the other details for dinner done. Rave reviews every time. Not giving 5 stars because without a double on the sauce, there wouldn't be enough to put on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We have made this numerous times and the entire family loves it. We are GLUTEN FREE and substitute non-gmo cornmeal for the breadcrumbs and use gf soy sauce. Makes a great gift meal as well. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Soooo good. Deviated by using frozen Italian meatballs thawed in the microwave and lightly sprinkled with ginger, worcestershire and sugar. No green peppers. Used carrots and chunks of sweet onion steamed before adding to sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I really liked them but they didn't get the wow factor I was hoping for from everybody else, not sure why as I thought they were amazing. Everyone else liked them but I guess not as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I only made the sauce as I had already made and frozen meatballs from the Meatball Nirvana recipe. I halved the sauce, omitted the salt and only used 1 tsp light soya sauce and 1 tbsp brown sugar, added half an onion with the red pepper and carrots. Added some Sambal Oleck before serving for a little kick, it was enjoyed by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
1/2 and 1/2 ground beef and pork, no egg, but added 2/3 Cup of skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Wow finding this recipe was a total blast from the past. 30 years ago when I was a newly single mom of 2 boys money was very tight and back then and living in England meatballs were not a common everyday food, but I used this recipe with canned tuna!! It was cheap and my boys adored it. Served over rice just as this recipe and we ate it for years. For some reason I forgot about it............ this brought back lots of memories about the struggle I had back then, going to college and working, with two boys. Made it last night with homemade meatballs and it was as gorgeous as I remembered. Going to feed it to my grandkids now!! Found a vegetarian meatball recipe so now I can make it for my other set of grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The BEST homemade sweet & sour sauce ever! It will go great with any kind of meat. I realized I didn't have any corn starch, so I substituted flour with no problem. The meatballs were just ok. A bit boring. But the sauce? Amazing. I also doubled the sauce and am glad I did - I'd hate to see how little of sauce would have been left if I left it single. Will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I cut the meat portion in half, so I only used one pound of beef instead of two, and altered the ingredients accordingly. My kids loved the meatballs, and the sauce was perfect. This will now be my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ando

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
We did like this, I doubled the sauce-couldn't find any soy sauce,so left that out & had to make my own breadcrumbs-1 hamburger bun was enough. I used my food processor to chop the carrot, onion,& bell pepper. To add more flavor I did mix in a bit of honey & Dijon mustard at the end. I will make this again,& add in some pork sausage to the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States