Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I love this recipe. Make extra sauce though. Sometimes I move this to the crockpot after browning the meat if I have to make it early in the day and run errands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I am reviewing the sauce only because I was in a major time crunch and had to use frozen turkey meatballs. (I know, I know...) I took them directly out of the freezer, browned them for maybe 5 minutes, and then added them to the sauce, simmering for 20 minutes just like the recipe states. I did make about 1/3 more sauce than called for and it was much better sauce ratio, especially if serving over rice like I did. This was easy and delicious. Even my toddler shoveled it down. I look forward to making the meatballs the next time I make this, and there definitely will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria C.
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
YUM! Just got finished making a double batch of these for a party this evening. I know I'm going to be popular! :) Thanks for sharing this delicious take on meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is just as tasty as when my mom made it for me as child (but she lost her recipe). I subsituted the meatballs with Nate's Zesty Italian Vegetarian meatballs and it was still just as delious! Thanks, my husband and 4 year old love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavorablesoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I just made this last night for my hubby. This is his new favorite meal! I halved the meatball recipe and left the sauce recipe the same and omitted the carrot since I didn't have on hand. Served over rice, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KY Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
love 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Wow. Made this tonight to bring to a potluck tomorrow and I'm gonna have to stop "sampling" or I won't have any to bring to the party. I did make some additions - used fresh ginger and garlic in the meatballs and added another 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt. In the sauce, I doubled everything except the cornstarch - just used 4 tablespoons because that seemed like the right thickness for me. And, I added a cup of ketchup because I needed the sauce to be red and I like a tomato tang in all of my sauces. It is perfection and I know they will be a hit tomorrow. Also, I think I'm going to bake all of my meatballs from now on instead of pan frying - it's so easy and the meatballs stay round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I did not want to bother to make meatballs, so I cooked the hamburg in a pot. I added onions, red, green and yellow peppers, mini carrots, mushrooms and fresh pineapple, garlic and the sauce ingredients. Cooked on top of the stove until vegetables were tender. Taste just like s&s meatballs without the fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This sauce would be excellent on chicken or pork too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
My family and I LOVE this recipe! I use 1# of turkey burger (1/2 the meatball recipe) and make the whole amount of sauce. The sauce is delicious! Served with brown rice and another vege. it's a good healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States