Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Quite good except I had to double the sauce, and even then my husband said it could use more. I also halved the Vinegar as others suggested. My husband gave it a 7-8/10. I give it an 8 or 9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckee
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This rating is for the sauce alone as I used frozen meatballs. I doubled the recipe except for the brown sugar (3/4 cup for a double recipe) and pineapple. I just used one 20 oz can of pineapple, all the juice (which was more than a cup) and water to equal the correct amount of liquid. This made enough for for 30 good sized meatballs. I used orange and red bell pepper, onion and sugar snap peas for the veggies. I don't like green bell pepper. My family rated it a "must have again" recipe. My out of town kids heard about it and also want the recipe. I'd like to try it next time with chunks of chicken or pork. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Very Tasty...Both sweet and sour but not overpowering-just right. I did add 1/2 cup ketchup, fresh grated ginger and garlic to the meatball mixture. Used a real Hawaiian pineapple, cut up, with its natural juices. I also threw a medley of green, red, yellow and orange bell peppers for color and texture. I served this over hot rice. Thank you for this tasty recipe. We all enjoyed this flavorful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Great and Easy Recipe! I just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroliney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very nice. I would add some red pepper flakes for a bit of zing next time. Not overly sweet. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
the sauce was very thick, needed more moisture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was wonderful. I made the sauce with chicken instead of meatballs and it was amazing! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Very tasty sauce, but the meatballs are a little bland. I suggest adding extra Worcestershire, using Italian-style breadcrumbs, and maybe 50% more ground black pepper, a little extra onion, a little extra seasoning salt, and a little extra ginger. (And, actually, I had slightly less meat than the recipe called for - so it would have been even blander. So don't be afraid to spice it up!) For the sauce I prefer using red, yellow, or orange bell pepper. Not only do they look nicer, but they are a little sweeter and also easier to digest since they are ripe. (Green bell peppers aren't technically ripe and your body can't handle them as well.) All that said, it WAS enjoyable and I'll certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious and easy! I took the advise of others and doubled the sauce. Glad I did, it wouldn't have been enough to simmer the meatballs in otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
THIS IS AWESOME!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States