Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I made these for my daughter's birthday luau party and everyone RAVED about them! I cheated and used 5 pounds of frozen meatballs and I multiplied the sauce recipe by 6 and followed that part of the recipe to a tee. Several people asked me for the recipe! A huge hit and I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
My family loved this recipe. It was SO GOOD! I took another reviews suggested and doubled the sauce recipe. I did so (using 4 TBS cornstarch) and it made just the right amount. I think I will increase the oven time for the meatballs to 20 mins next time. Another change I made and would do again is that I used a meat mix called "meatloaf mix" from the grocery store. I think it was ground beef, pork and lamb. Made the meatballs very tastey! Will make in the future for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This recipe is great! It is one of the better ones I've seen. The meatballs taste delicious and this is pretty quick and easy. However, the meatballs didn't taste seasoned enough with the amount of seasoning the recipe calls for. So I would add a little more. Also, the amount of sauce is a bit on the low side for the amount of meatballs there are. Otherwise, a great dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
LOVED this dish! My only gripe is the same as others: too little sauce for the amount of meatballs. I made 3/4 the amount of meatballs (had 1.5lbs of beef) and made 1 1/2 the amount of sauce. Even with that change, I still think it would have done with a tad bit more sauce for serving over rice. Other than that, the resulting flavor of the meatballs and sauce are wonderfully perfect! Love the pineapple and bell peppers combo. I used both red & green bell peppers for more color and will do that again. I also baked the meatballs on parchment paper on a baking sheet for easy cleanup! This is a keeper! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
These meatballs were great! I really enjoyed the vegetables also, their texture remained somewhat firm and crunchy. The next time, I plan to cut the carrots in slices instead of diced. My fiance also loved this dish...a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was amazing! Everyone in our family loved it, even my most picky eater. The only change I made was to double the sauce recipe and I was glad I did. It didn't reheat as well as I'd hope but other than that it was a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This sauce was really good. It's the first sweet and sour sauce that has actually turned out for me. I will be using this often in the future! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Quite good except I had to double the sauce, and even then my husband said it could use more. I also halved the Vinegar as others suggested. My husband gave it a 7-8/10. I give it an 8 or 9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckee
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This rating is for the sauce alone as I used frozen meatballs. I doubled the recipe except for the brown sugar (3/4 cup for a double recipe) and pineapple. I just used one 20 oz can of pineapple, all the juice (which was more than a cup) and water to equal the correct amount of liquid. This made enough for for 30 good sized meatballs. I used orange and red bell pepper, onion and sugar snap peas for the veggies. I don't like green bell pepper. My family rated it a "must have again" recipe. My out of town kids heard about it and also want the recipe. I'd like to try it next time with chunks of chicken or pork. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Very Tasty...Both sweet and sour but not overpowering-just right. I did add 1/2 cup ketchup, fresh grated ginger and garlic to the meatball mixture. Used a real Hawaiian pineapple, cut up, with its natural juices. I also threw a medley of green, red, yellow and orange bell peppers for color and texture. I served this over hot rice. Thank you for this tasty recipe. We all enjoyed this flavorful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States