Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is easy and tasty and I just used frozen meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
VERY yummy!!! I will make this again and again. The sauce recipe is awesome and better than any store bought I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Meatballs were great!!!!! :) but the sauce tasted A bit off..maybe too much cornstarch??? Anyone else had that taste?? Added a extra egg-moist delish meatballs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Very good sweet and sour sauce, but a little too sweet. I'd cut the brown sugar down to about 1/3 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great recipe- easy to make and delicious- my whole family loved it and are excited for leftovers tomorrow! Followed the sauce part closely (I never add all the salt, maybe 1/4 of what recipe recommends and I used regular salt, and probably only 2-3x the cornstarch). I did 4x the sauce as I had a lot of meatballs (probably double this recipe, homemade ones in the freezer, Meatball Nirvana recipe from AR). I came home at lunch, quickly mixed up the sauce ingredients and poured them over the frozen meatballs in a slow cooker, on medium heat for 4 -5 hours. Some meatballs mushed into meat sauce but most held their shape. I am sure storebought ones would hold up better, but these tasted better!! This will become my go-to sweet and sour recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
We've made this recipe so many times and it's excellent! I have made it as is and also several times with modifications. This does make a lot of meatballs so unless you plan on attending a party or freezing some of them, I would cut the recipe for the meatballs in half (I usually do this and still end up with ~30 meatballs!) but keep the sauce the same. In the past, I've substituted ground chicken for ground beef and it tasted great! I've also substituted ground oatmeal for the breadcrumbs. Since the breadcrumbs serve as a binder it doesn't really affect the overall taste of the recipe and it turns out a bit healthier too! The meal is a great both with and without veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Doubled the sauce and had ground turkey on hand and no bell peppers. I liked it and will make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I omitted the eggs and the white sugar from the meatballs but followed the rest to a tee and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Meatballs were great, flavorful. Sauce was great as well. I had to use flour instead of cornstarch as it's what I had on hand. I also used fresh pineapple so I didn't have any juice. I used the juice from a can of pears to make sure the sauce turned out ok. Satisfied my craving, I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Fantastic. Sauce is a little sparse for the amount of meatballs. Almost worth doubling the sauce, alternatively cut the number of meatballs. (That's the difference between 4 & 5 stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States