Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
Delicious recipe! As other reviewers have mentioned, the amount of sauce is very scant in proportion to the meatballs (this made about 50 one-inch meatballs). If you're serving as an appetizer, I'm sure the single batch of sauce is fine. But if you're serving as a meal and like enough sauce to flavor your rice as well, you'll definitely need to double the sauce recipe. I did so (using 4 TBS cornstarch) and it made just the right amount. I think I will increase the oven time for the meatballs to 20 mins next time since I believe they'll hold together a little better in the sauce if they're cooked just a tad longer in the oven first. I added the pineapple chunks during the last 5 mins of simmering as suggested by another reviewer. I'm sure this yummy sauce would work well with just about any kind of meat. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This recipe was simple and easy to follow - the results were yummy too. However, the amount of sauce indicated isn't nearly enough to allow for a proper simmer, so you should probably make 1.5 times the amount or double it. If you are in a hurry (or wish to confirm that the meatballs are thoroughly cooked), you can let the meatballs bake a little longer (additional 5 minutes), while you prepare the sauce. FYI - The finished product will almost fill a 9" x 13" container (depending on the amount of the sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Still the best sweet and sour meatball recipe ever! Need a fast dinner? Use the sauce recipe with store bought meatballs and use frozen bell pepper slices. The sauce is great over chicken too. HINT**Don't add any salt to the sauce until after you have added the soy sauce. It can make a big difference! I had never thought to cook meatballs in the oven before, this works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
This is a family favourite at our house! I omit the carrot, green pepper, onion, and ginger, for personal preference, and use crushed pineapple. (my husband hates pineapple but likes it crushed in this recipe! lol) I half the recipe but make the full recipe for the sauce. I serve it over rice, I have made this several times and it always turns out great! Thanks Lana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Outstanding! The meatballs were delicious. VERY tasty...I cut the meatball recipe in half and used the same amount of sauce without cutting that part in half and it was just enough sauce. Would even double the sauce next time and still only use 1 lb. of ground beef. Hubby said he could eat these meatballs every night! I served it over brown rice and it was a hit! Great recipe. I can't say enough good about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
Some of the best meatballs I have ever tasted. I doubled the recipe and made two batches, one for each party. Everyone loved the recipe so much at each party, I was told I need to make it for every family party. In addition - I have since made this for a family reunion. Other extended families came up to me and told me they KNEW these were not frozen meatballs from the store. I was referred to as the 'meatball girl' and they have begged me to share the recipe with them. I am telling you - this is a great recipe for meatballs! When I was done making these meatballs, I transfered it to a crockpot and left it on low and it kept them nice and warm for the party. A must make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
The meatballs were one of the best I've made so far, hence the 5 star rating. I enjoyed the sauce, but it was a tad too thick in my opinion. I would reduce the cornstarch down to 2 tbls next time. I added a dash of allspice to the meatball mixture and left out the carrots. I'll definitely use this recipe again for the meatballs and serve them with spaghetti. Good recipe Lana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This is an awesome recipe! I used premade meatballs which made it a little easier. I will add this to our family favorites. Quick and easy all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
VERY tasty...I cut the meatball recipe in half and used the same amount of sauce without cutting that part in half and it was just enough sauce. Would even double the sauce next time and still only use 1 lb. of ground beef. Didn't add the drained pineapple as husband wouldn't have liked it and just served the pineapple as a side dish. Hubby said he could eat these meatballs every night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by passion8chef
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I thought thises meatballs cooked up nicely, but the sauce was really sweet to me. Maybe next time I'll reduce the brown sugar to 1/3 cup and increase the vinegar just a bit to balance out the flavors. I also used about half the amount of bell pepper and pineapple and cut the chunks into tidbits. I served it over cooked fettucine. Overall, I would try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States