Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I, too doubled the sauce because I read the other reviews. It made just the right amount to serve with rice or noodles for a main dish. Very tasty! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I cut the meatball recipe in half which made the perfect amount for 2 adults and a toddler and enough left overs for lunch the next day. I made sure the sauce was doubled but followed everything else to a T. This recipe was AMAZING! My husband who is an extremely picky eater and likes hardly anything LOVED this recipe and even went back for SECONDS!! I will definitely be making this again and again and again!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was delish a little sweet but good! I made the meatballs as stated but i didnt cook in my oven did it stovetop. I also dont have any cornstarch i mixed a little flour/butter mixture into the sauce and that thickened up real well with no lumps, all u do is take your flour mix into butter to create these butter balls and drop in, they melt and thicken. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Epsom, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
i used ground turkey and added a lot of minced garlic to the meatballs then served over brown rice. it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Awesome dish! I made this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe for the sauce, even though I only had one can of pineapple. I just used all the juice and added enough water as recipe states. I also baked meatballs for about 20 minutes, heated with sauce for about 10 minutes, and left out carrot and bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is my go-to recipe. Simple and yummy. I find more sauce is needed though so I freeze about half the meatballs for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Sorry Lana, but this was not a hit with us. The sauce is good but the meatballs are kind of lacking much flavour. I think that maybe sweet & sour just doesn't 'go with' meatballs. Chicken or pork would've tasted better than meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaLoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was a fabulous recipe that many people raved over! As others suggested, I doubled the sauce recipe. As a quick meal idea I have also used the sauce with store boughten meatballs and the result has been great as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I made these using ground buffalo and served them over Jasmine rice. Outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Eh. These were average at best. I guess I'm in the minority here as these seem to be a winner for most folks. I still stand true to MEMBER81872's sweet and sour meatballs. They were the first I ever tried (I stumbled upon the recipe in the Allrecipes cookbook I received ages ago) and are by far the best - EVER!!! :) Lana's MB's were mediocre in comparison. It just goes to show you that sometimes the overlooked recipes on here are the real gems (Member's recipe has only 24 reviews). I usually find myself tweaking new recipes, but didn't make any major changes this time. All I did was substitute a red bell pepper for the green one called for (happened to have one handy) and halve the MB portion. I don't consider either of these modifications drastic enough to significantly alter the recipe and they in no way swayed my rating. I kept everything else as is and am glad I did. I had plenty of sauce to cover my MB's and veggies with. Served atop steamed white rice with Hawaiian rolls on the side, this was an allright meal. I'm glad to have given your recipe a try, but the vote at my house is no repeat (sorry!). Thanks anyways, Lana! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States