Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is so delicious, friends served it at their sons birthday party, the family is part Hawaiian and their grandma made it, I thought it must be her secret family recipe but asked and this is her recipe! I can't wait to make it for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Like other reviewers I tripled the sauce but halved the ground beef and then pan fried the meat balls. The sauce is FANTASTIC! This is almost exactly like the recipe my dad used to make and it is amazing! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was pretty nummy...and my kids liked it, too. I used onion flakes in the meatballs instead of chopped onion. A wee bit of cayenne, or red chile flakes would be good too...just to kick it up a teeeeny bit. I browned the meatballs first in a bit of olive oil. For the sauce, I doubled the recipe, but cut the brown sugar in half and it was plenty sweet! I also added a few more sliced carrots. I then put the sauce and meatballs in my crockpot and left it for a couple of hours so we could be out at kids activities...and come home to a hot meal ready to go. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1butterycuppy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Husband makes these once a month for something different. SO good! Must try! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jcalvin2007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I, too doubled the sauce because I read the other reviews. It made just the right amount to serve with rice or noodles for a main dish. Very tasty! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I cut the meatball recipe in half which made the perfect amount for 2 adults and a toddler and enough left overs for lunch the next day. I made sure the sauce was doubled but followed everything else to a T. This recipe was AMAZING! My husband who is an extremely picky eater and likes hardly anything LOVED this recipe and even went back for SECONDS!! I will definitely be making this again and again and again!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was delish a little sweet but good! I made the meatballs as stated but i didnt cook in my oven did it stovetop. I also dont have any cornstarch i mixed a little flour/butter mixture into the sauce and that thickened up real well with no lumps, all u do is take your flour mix into butter to create these butter balls and drop in, they melt and thicken. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Epsom, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
i used ground turkey and added a lot of minced garlic to the meatballs then served over brown rice. it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Awesome dish! I made this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe for the sauce, even though I only had one can of pineapple. I just used all the juice and added enough water as recipe states. I also baked meatballs for about 20 minutes, heated with sauce for about 10 minutes, and left out carrot and bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is my go-to recipe. Simple and yummy. I find more sauce is needed though so I freeze about half the meatballs for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States