Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Delicious!! And easy!! For a quick week night dinner, I used frozen meatballs. I plan in the future on trying it with chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Very good taste. Not overly sweet at all. Only complaint - I had four servings of meatballs but the sauce really only made enough to cover half of that. A keeper nevertheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Delicious sauce. I had to change some things about the meat balls themselves, not because there was anything wrong with the recipe, but because I was using veggie crumbles instead of ground beef. (Doubled the egg and the spices, added garlic) Still turned out wonderful! Based on other reviewers suggestions I doubled the sauce. Served over rice. We very much enjoyed this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
My family loves it! It is a very good recipe and easy to make! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Technically like a 4.8 since I tweaked it just a little to my family's tastes. I have made this dish twice now. The first time was exactly as the recipe stated, but it was a little too sweet and I didn't care for the ginger. The second time was perfect for our family. I omitted the ginger entirely and served over steamed white rice drizzled with soy sauce due to the overwhelming sweetness. I also made 50% more sauce than this recipe called for because we really enjoyed it. Thanks so much for sharing! Super easy for a busy mom of 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Excellent recipe! Everyone who tries it likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
A big hit in the family. Preschooler took one bite and declared it delicious. Husband thought it a little too sweet but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Outstanding recipe! When making meatballs, you can use grocer packaged beef/pork/veal mixture with terrific results, too. I found that about 1.4 lb meat generates about 3 1/2 dozen meatballs and the perfect amount to be covered by the sauce. If reducing your meat, adjust only the other meatball ingredients accordingly, and use one egg instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
My mom used to make this all of the time so naturally I've added it to my cooking repertoire now that I'm on my own. My boyfriend loves it. Definitely double the sauce or cut the meatballs recipe in half (depending on how many you're serving). We serve ours over quinoa and a side of broccoli or green beans. TIP FOR BEGINNER COOKS: whisk your cornstarch with a little tepid water before adding to your sauce. Eliminates lumps :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was really good! I pan fried the meatballs which turned out great. I also added more pineapple than called for, just because I like a bit of pineapple with every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States