Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
oh my goodness. Kids raved. I was absolutely thrilled with the taste. I will make the meatballs again and freeze them for a make ahead menu. I see endless possibilities. I Made the recipe exactly as given. Oh and I made them too early so I dumped them in the crock pot to simmer on low. Even better. Sauce was just right in texture and meatball were tender and soaked in the sauce. I got one 'that taste better than I expected'. a true compliment, especially after the second big plate. You made grandma a winner tonight. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Sorry, I don't use white vinegar to cook with, I don't use lean ground beef for meatballs, so, I used 1lb ground chuck, 1lb ground pork, use oatmeal instead of bread crumbs, triple the sauce and had a fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Will not add the extra can of pineapple juice next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Doubled the sauce like the other reviewers suggested; other than that, AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I've been making this for years, (close to 50), but my original recipe called for catsup instead of vinegar and pineapple tidbits instead of chunks. Thanks for reposting this as I haven't made it in ages but definitely plan to again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChihuahuaMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Made this in my pressure cooker! Baked the meatballs for 20 mins, doubled the sauce and added red pepper flakes and a little more vinegar. Also used two bell peppers but only one can pineapple. Chopped the other half of the onion from the meatballs and added it. Placed the meat balls on top and pressure cooked for 10mins, did the corn starch slurry at the end. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jahyeon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I doubled the sauce-I am not sure that I needed to do that, but it was a nice amount of sauce. I threw some asparagus from the garden in the pot too. This was very good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
very good - although in my recipe it has milk, ginger ale, catsup, ginger, garlic, hot pepper flakes, sugar, soya sauce - for the meatballs: ground beef garlic egg, breadcrumbs milk, salt and pepper, raw as they cook in the sauce - plenty of sauce - simply delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Enjoyed this recipe didn't change a thing, the sauce was excellent and the meatballs where to die for, we are going to make this again next week when we go camping, I think our family and friends will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I used pork & turkey and both turned out great! I'd follow the other reviews of doubling up on the sauce, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States