Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Fantastic. Sauce is a little sparse for the amount of meatballs. Almost worth doubling the sauce, alternatively cut the number of meatballs. (That's the difference between 4 & 5 stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The recipe is excellent. I just cook for two so I cut the meatball part in half and I doubled the sauce and served over rice. I still had a lot left over, but it was just as good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
First time ever that I made sweet and sour meatballs. It was quick, easy, and delicious. I cut the recipe in half for two of us for dinner, but when I saw the number of meatballs it made I kept half of them out of the sauce to freeze for later. So basically I cut the sauce in half and it was the perfect amount. I didn't have a green pepper; I used cabbage instead - that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I do love sweet and sour but never thought of doing it with meatballs....was looking up recipes for ground beef and this one came up. Just the inspiration I needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I made this for a small group adult dinner as an appetizer. Rave reviews!!! I didn't have the ginger, so I left it out - still a great alternative to the tomato based sauces for meatballs. I doubled it and cut a bit of the sugar. I precooked the sauce and then let it cook in my slow cooker with frozen turkey meat balls - A Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I did not add any sugar to the meatballs and they were fine without it. We cut the veggies to a small dice because little kids were eating it. I doubled the sauce recipe but only added a scant one third cup of brown sugar. We also added pineapple chunks. Next time I will only add 1/4 cup of brown sugar or less to see if that helps the over-the-top sweetness of the dish. We served it for dinner and served it over brown rice /quinoa mix from Costco that takes 90 seconds in the microwave and roasted Brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I use this recipe regularly for guests. I double the sauce and pour over the meatballs which have been cooked and fill my large crockpot with the added pineapple, green peppers and partially cooked carrots. Then turn on low and let sit for 3-4 hours. That way I can get the other details for dinner done. Rave reviews every time. Not giving 5 stars because without a double on the sauce, there wouldn't be enough to put on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We have made this numerous times and the entire family loves it. We are GLUTEN FREE and substitute non-gmo cornmeal for the breadcrumbs and use gf soy sauce. Makes a great gift meal as well. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Ryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Soooo good. Deviated by using frozen Italian meatballs thawed in the microwave and lightly sprinkled with ginger, worcestershire and sugar. No green peppers. Used carrots and chunks of sweet onion steamed before adding to sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I really liked them but they didn't get the wow factor I was hoping for from everybody else, not sure why as I thought they were amazing. Everyone else liked them but I guess not as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States